Around Russell Square

This morning we went out for brunch and later had a look at the exhibition Identity: Eight rooms, nine lives at the Wellcome Collection. In between, we took a slightly nostalgic walk around Russell Square. Why “slightly nostalgic”? I’ll explain that later. In the meantime, here are some of the things we saw.

Caryatids at the back of St Pancras Church
Caryatids at the back of St Pancras Church

We got off the bus at Euston station and nearby is the St Pancras Parish Church with its famous caryatids holding up the front. Less well known are their four lovely sisters performing their function almost out of sight at the back. The angle of view from the street is not good but they too deserve to be seen.

20th Middlesex (Artists) Volunteer Rifles
20th Middlesex (Artists) Volunteer Rifles

This doorway belongs to a building that once housed the regiment called the 20th Middlesex (Artists) Volunteer Rifles, formed in 1859. Today, the building has been put to other purposes because, according to my information, the regiment was disbanded in 1945 but later resuscitated and transformed into the 21st Special Air Service Regiment (Artists Rifles).

Elegant shops in Woburn Walk
Elegant shops in Woburn Walk

In Woburn Walk we found these elegant Georgian or Victorian shops. Can you imagine ladies in crinoline dresses peering in at the goods in the windows?

Domes and turrets in Flaxman Terrace
Domes and turrets in Flaxman Terrace

I was intrigued by this house with domed turrets in Flaxman Terrace. I don’t think it is now used as a dwelling, if it ever was, but one can dream 🙂

The Horse Hospital
The Horse Hospital

This is the old horse hospital. Today we have to use our imagination to see the sick (and, I hope, cured) horses because it is now an arts centre and the horses are gone for ever.

Russell Square with Senate House beyond
Russell Square with Senate House beyond

The trees are still bare in Russell Square, allowing us to see some of the famous buildings in the neighbourhood. Here we can see Senate House, part of the University of London.

Hotel Russell
Hotel Russell

This is the huge and lavishly decorated Hotel Russell. I find it a very impressive building which perhaps does not receive the recognition and interest that it deserves.

Entrance of the Hotel Russell
Entrance of the Hotel Russell

The surrounding streets are too narrow to allow me to photograph the hotel other than in sections. This is the rather understated front door. Just look at the marvellous detail and profusion in the figures and decorative features.

Cabmen's shelter, Russell Square
Cabmen’s shelter, Russell Square

Beside Russell Square is this cabmen’s shelter. According to plates you can see attached to the door, it was presented by Sir Squire Bancroft in 1901 and restored in 1987. It now functions as a cafe.

Joseph Priestley perched above a door
Joseph Priestley perched above a door

The address is 30 Russell Square but this building is now part of the University of London and Joseph Priestley is celebrated in this sculpture above the door.

Waterstones, on the corner Malet Street and Gower Street
Waterstones, on the corner of Malet Street and Gower Street

Once occupied by the late lamented Dillons, this beautiful building is still a book shop but these days, the name over the door is Waterstones.

It was cold and windy and it was with relief that we entered the Wellcome building and ordered coffee and cake in their cafe. The exhibition was unusual and interestingly arranged. Photography was not allowed, of course, so you will have to see it for yourself.

Then we went home to prepare for tomorrow. Tomorrow? Nostalgia? See my next post…

Copyright © 2010 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Out and About and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Around Russell Square

  1. Petrichor says:

    I do hope this comment doesn’t end up in spam again. I’m beginning to think your blog has a grudge against me. 😦

    I love seeing all these pictures, as I don’t know London very well, but even if I did, I suspect I wouldn’t know many of these places. My favourite was the horse hospital.

    Like

  2. carol guy says:

    I am fond of St Pancrass church as my grandparents married there. my grandmother was a chambermaid for the old euston hotel and my grandfather was in the army barrocked near by. this is in the late 20’s. I have been to the church three times. i do not know a lot about their years in london and now it is to late. I would have liked to have known moor.

    Like

    • SilverTiger says:

      I feel the same about the people I knew as a child. Then I just took things for granted and by the time I was of an age to think of the questions I wanted answers to, it was too late.

      Perhaps if you read books about life in Britain and London around that time you will at least get some idea of what their world was like. It won’t be their own first-hand account but the next best thing.

      Like

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.