From the Golden Lady to Van Gogh

Today, Tigger was working at Harrow-on-the-Hill. This means that she knocks off at 1:30, leaving the afternoon free for whatever fun and games we may think up.

Accordingly I took the tube to Harrow-on-the-Hill and waited for my beloved in the Costa coffee shop just down the steps from the station.

It was just as well that we had planned this rendezvous as it was surprisingly cold out today. To tell the truth, I wasn’t prepared for it and got quite a shock when I stepped outside and was hit in the face by a blast of Arctic air, as it seemed to me./p>

The Golden Lady
The Golden Lady of Harrow-on-the-Hill

At Harrow I took a few moments to photograph the Golden Lady dancing away on her perch opposite the bus station. She is quite hard to photograph satisfactorily as she is perched high above the street and her pose means that from any angle, part of her form is hidden by other parts. Still, it’s worth the try.

Waiting for Tigger
Waiting for Tigger

When Tigger arrived at the coffee shop, we decided we needed to buy a second security cable for our laptops for when we go on holiday. Off we went to Maplin’s just down the road.

The "water feature" in Harrow
The “water feature” in Harrow

We discovered that part of the road had turned into a “water feature”, presumably because of a burst water main. There were little fountains all over the place and a stream in the gutter.

A group of fountains
A group of fountains

This will no doubt cause disruption and inconvenience as the road is dug up to deal with it but in the meantime, it was rather pretty.

Having done our shopping, we went for lunch. We had already been to Tony’s Cafe and had been happy with the service and the food so we went there again.

Tony's Cafe
Tony’s Cafe

After a good lunch we set off on the long journey back to town as we had a project in view.

You may know that there is an exhibition of Van Gogh on at the Royal Academy and we hoped that by going in the week, we would not encounter the crowds that make visits such a  trial at weekends. Unfortunately, our hopes were dashed. The exhibition was very full and to get close to all the paintings and other exhibits would have required a long, slow crawl around the various rooms. We therefore did the best we could and in any case, I think that many of the more famous paintings were absent.

Where art is concerned, I suppose I would be regarded as something of a philistine. I like what I like and don’t mind saying that I don’t like something even if it is by a famous artist and all the art fanatics are swooning over it. My main criterion is “Would I like to have that on my wall or in my home?”

As it happens, I quite like some of Van Gogh’s works and there are one or two in the exhibition that I would happily slap on the wall with a couple of well placed masonry nails. Not that I am ever likely to have the chance.

On the other hand, there were some that I wasn’t keen on and one that, if it had been a photo, I would have suggested needed some work to correct the colour bias.

One reason for visiting art exhibitions is that paintings often suggest ways of taking photographs of scenes and on that score I did receive a couple of tips from the master, though whether I will ever manage to emulate his examples remains to be seen.

On the way back we stopped off at Starbuck’s for rest and refreshment. Did you know that at the Angel we have not one but three Starbuck’s within a few hundred yards of one another? That must say something about this area, though I am not sure quite what.

Copyright © 2010 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Out and About and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From the Golden Lady to Van Gogh

  1. cbramhall says:

    I’ve read suggestions before now that the colour bias in some of Van Gogh’s work may be due to the influence of absinthe (as might the business with the ear). Whether either is correct, I’m not qualified to say although I do know from personal experience that absinthe has a subtly different effect to other alcoholic drinks.

    • SilverTiger says:

      I suppose it’s quite possible. Everything we ingurgitate has some effect on the body or the mind or both. The problem is that what might be seen as desirable effects are usually not separable from the undesirable ones.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

