Freya

Tuesday, June 2nd 2015

When I called the vet this morning it was obvious that Freya was in a bad way. I went straight down to see her.

As soon as I saw her, I knew that the end had come. There was only one decision to make.

Under the drug, she fell asleep without a murmur and her heart stopped at approximately 11:15 am.

The rescue cat who was at first frightened of me, and hid from me behind the furniture, became a confident, brave and affectionate companion whom I love and of whom I am proud. Her memory will accompany me always.

Copyright © 2015 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Freya and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Freya

  1. Ancient Brit says:

    Casey and I are both so sorry to hear that Freya passed away. It’s an awful experience to go through and an awful decision to have to make. The one consolation IMHO is that she had a life in which she was loved and appreciated by both of you, and from what you’ve described she clearly loved both of you.

    It’s my opinion that no matter what your belief system (or lack of in my case) if you can touch the life of another living thing in a positive way, you’ve answered the question that so many ask: what’s my purpose in life?

    Deepest condolences from both of us.

    • SilverTiger says:

      Thank you. It is time of grief for us because Freya was much loved and an important part of our lives. She leaves behind her a space that cannot be filled. As a rescue cat, she had had a chequered start to her life and my vow was to make the rest of her life as happy as possible. I hope I managed but it is certain that she enhanced my life and brought me much happiness. With us she was a gentle and affectionate little person but she had a mind of her own and vets and cattery people knew to approach her with caution. We will keep her in our thoughts with love and gratitude.

  2. Snoskred says:

    I’m so sorry.😦 *hugs*

    As Ancient Brit mentioned, it is clear to me and anyone else reading that she was greatly loved and well looked after. I’m also really glad you were there with her.

  3. brianbarder says:

    Very sorry. All good things come to an end — even cats….

  4. Once she found and chose you, there was companionship and shelter against the storm of life.
    She trusted you to help her. You did not turn away. She chose wisely. May warmth and peace find your door.

  5. WOL says:

    There are no words I can say. I have been in that awful place myself and can only empathize. My heart goes out to you. Love sometimes brings us to difficult decisions and it is love that gets us through them. You gave Freya a second chance to live a healthy and safe life in a loving environment. I never met her, and yet I, too, will miss her.

    • SilverTiger says:

      Thanks for your various messages of good wishes to which I am replying here. Our hopes were not answered and our worst fears came to pass. At least Freya suffers no more and died loved.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

