Tigger goes to Sheffield; I stay at home

Tigger had a courier run to Sheffield today. It had been on the cards for several days but wasn’t certain because of the bad weather: we were waiting to see how rail services were faring. The final decision was made last night and the document sent to us by taxi.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t go this time. EDF, in its wisdom had decided that we needed to have our electricity meter changed and today was the day for the job to be done. As usual, I was given a “window” of 7 am to 1 pm, during which the engineer would at some point call. This meant that I was stuck at home, ready to switch off the electrics, all morning.

Despite the weather, Tigger had a good run and made the drop without any problems. Rather than hang around Sheffield in the cold, she came straight back, sending me a text suggesting we meet for lunch at Carluccio’s in St Pancras station.

The doorbell eventually rang at 11:45. I directed the engineer to the meter cupboard in the basement and proceeded to switch off all electrical equipment. I sat by the window and read, keeping an eye on my desk lamp: when it came on again, I knew the work was done. A quick check performed by plugging a device into a power socket and hearing it beep, and the engineer went on his way.

I left the house at about 12:25 and waited at the stop for the 214. Tigger was due in at 1:05, so I had enough time with some to spare. Just as well, because when I reached St Pancras and made for the station entrance I was confronted by a massive queue that ran the whole length of the station. These were passengers hoping to board the disrupted Eurostar services.

I decided to go into the station by the side entrance. This takes you straight to the first floor and is therefore of no interest to Eurostar travellers.

The queue of course continued inside the station and snaked along the shopping area.

Queueing for the Eurostar

Tigger’s train arrived on time and we made our way to Carluccio’s which was also quite busy. Fortunately, they had a table for two remaining, almost as if we had reserved in advance. The service was very slow but that was understandable in the circumstances.

Seeing the queue for the Eurostar reminded me of our own experience when there was a fire in the Channel Tunnel the day before we were due to return from Paris. No one knew what to advise for the the best and we ended up booking a passage by ordinary train and ferry, only to manage to board a limited Eurostar service because we be in the Gare du Nord at the right moment. I can imagine the uncertainty and worry that these travellers must be facing.

Disruption to the Eurostar service is bad news not only for intending travellers but also for the environment. If we are to persuade public and government to curtail air travel and replace it with rail travel then we need said rail service to work impeccably. Delays and disruptions on the present scale create massive negative publicity for Eurostar and for rail travel in general. These problems therefore need sorting out and quickly.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tigger goes to Sheffield; I stay at home

  1. Reluctant Blogger says:

    Yes, it is such a pity that Eurostar has fallen to pieces in this way. I always try to encourage people to use the service. Lots of skiers do so.

    I told Sandra Eurostar might be a good bet when she was booking her flights. But she dislikes tunnels and booked a flight from Sydney to Schiphol and then an onward flight direct to Norwich. She made the right decision as she arrived here only 20 mins late and had a whole morning in Amsterdam to meet with a friend. Links via Norwich airport are invariably good and despite my environmental concerns and the fact that flights via Schiphol are pricey I tend to use that route as disruption is so stressful.

    I hope you two enjoy the winter holiday.

    Like

    • SilverTiger says:

      When Eurostar is running normally, the tunnel is barely noticeable. Even a fully paid-up claustrophobe would have to be putting on the agony to claim to be affected. In fact, if you choose the right moment to go to the buffet or the toilet you are completely unaware of it.

      I find the whole experience of Eurostar travel better than air travel. It’s easier getting aboard and there’s more room for luggage (which you keep with you and therefore doesn’t get sent to Bangalore) and for oneself. Why anyone would choose a plane instead is beyond me.

      All the more reason to deplore the problems which, I have no doubt, will eventually be solved.

      Like

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.