Coffee later

During the week, when Tigger is at work and I am on my own, I try to make myself go out for a walk at least once a day. Going out for a walk of course begs a question: where shall I go? For someone like me, who has difficulty making decisions, that can be hard to answer! Today, however, I decided to walk to Euston Station. Why? Well, why not? 🙂

The weather today might be described as “cloudy with occasional sunny intervals”. The temperature is in the mid-20s C, inducing me to pace myself and not hurry.

Pentonville Road
Pentonville Road

I set off along Pentonville Road, a busy main thoroughfare that connects Islington with King’s Cross. Originally part of what was first called New Road, it is named after Henry Penton the Younger who developed the area in the later 18th century.

The most famous institution in the area is perhaps Pentonville Prison. The rather grim-looking bulding is not in Pentonville Road, as you might expect, but in Caledonian Road.

Affleck Street
Affleck Street

I passed this cul-de-sac which must be one of the shortest streets in Islington. It is called Affleck Street and is named after Admiral Sir Edmund Affleck (1725-88).

Strange sculpture
Strange sculpture

I noticed the large sculpture affixed to the side of a building though I have no idea what it represents. Is it art or a business logo? I have no idea.

St Pancras Station
St Pancras Station

At the bottom of the gentle slope of Pentonville Road, one comes in sight of what might be mistaken for a fairytale palace but is in fact the beautiful St Pancras Station. Designed by William Henry Barlow for the Midland Railway, it opened in 1868. It was nearly destroyed by developers but was saved after vigorous public protest led by Sir John Betjeman.

King’s Cross Station
King’s Cross Station

Face-to-face with St Pancras stands the very differently styled King’s Cross Station. Though rather more “modern” and utilitarian in manner, this station, designed by Lewis Cubitt, is the earlier of the pair and opened in 1852.

Euston Road
Euston Road

From St Pancras onwards, this stretch of what was originally New Road is now called Euston Road. You might wonder where the seemingly strange name, Euston, comes from. There is an easy answer: in Anglo-Saxon times, a man had a farm (tun, in Anglo-Saxon) hereabouts. The man was called Efe and his name, albeit slightly modified, has stayed with the place through the centuries.

Entrance, St Pancras Hotel
Entrance, St Pancras Hotel

Within St Pancras Station is a hotel and also apartments. We have had tea in the hotel a couple of times. Today, though, I stopped only long enough to take a photo.

Courtyard, British Library
Courtyard, British Library

I stepped into the large courtyard of the British Library where Eduardo Paolozzi’s Newton sits with dividers, measuring out the universe. I wonder what Sir Isaac would think of our modern concept of the universe, which is as beautiful as his but far stranger.

St Pancras Station peers over the wall
St Pancras Station peers over the wall

From here too we have a glimpse of the turrets of St Pancras Station that seems to peer over the wall into the courtyard.

Euston Fire Station
Euston Fire Station

Just before arriving at Euston Station, you pass Euston Fire Station. It is a pretty building built in 1901-2 but today the view was blocked by a number of vehicles parked in front.

Partial view of the façade
Partial view of the façade

I managed to see a partial view of the handsome façade. The building by is Grade II* listed and quite rightly so.

Euston War Memorial
Euston War Memorial

Entering the station from Euston Road, you pass the war memorial which is now slightly awkwardly placed on a roundabout to be negotiated by incoming buses. It was unveiled in 1921 in honour of the fallen of that 1914-18 war.

Euston Station
Euston Station

Euston Station is unlikely to win any beauty competitions. The current version, which dates from the 1960s, is functional and performs the role assigned to it – that much we can say in praise of it. In front is a large open area with coffee bars and eateries.

Euston Bus Station
Euston Bus Station

I did not tarry in the railway station but went straight to the adjoining bus station. Here I could catch several buses back to the Angel.

Aboard the 73
Aboard the 73

I caught a number 73 and found a seat at the rear of the bus from where I took this photo. Should I have walked home rather than taken the bus? Perhaps I should, but retracing one’s steps is less entertaining than the outward journey, and riding the bus is also fun!

Tugger is working the early shift today and so we will meet for coffee. She will take the bus to the Islington Green stop where I will meet her. From there it is but a step or two to Caffè Nero.

Chapel Market closing
Chapel Market closing

Tigger left work at 4 pm and kept in contact with me via text. We have this down to a fine art: Tigger changes buses in Moorgate and tells me when she is aboard the number 43 bus. That’s my signal to start walking! I passed through Chapel Market whose stalls, at this hour, are beginning to close for the day.

Angel Central
Angel Central

I crossed through Angel Central. Going via the market and the shopping centre cuts the corner, as it were, avoiding a stretch of busy main road.

Lovely trees, Islington Green
Lovely trees, Islington Green

I rejoined Upper Street near Islington Green where I paused to photograph the lovely trees.

Caffè Nero
Caffè Nero

I met Tigger off the bus and we walked to nearby Caffè Nero.

Coffee is served!
Coffee is served!

We settled down with our coffee and relaxed.

When we had finished our coffee, Tigger checked her bus app for the next number 30. It was due in one minute! We had to cross the busy main road and as we did so, the bus arrived at the stop. Fortunately, several people wanted to leave the bus, giving us time to reach it before it departed again.

Aboard the 30
Aboard the 30

Safely aboard, we were carried back to the Angel and home. We have a restful evening in view.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger. Bookmark the permalink.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.