Westfield London

Sunday, January 22nd 2017

This morning we went out, as usual, for a cafe breakfast followed by the weekly shopping trip to Sainsbury’s. This let us know that the weather continued cold and unconducive to long rambles out in the open. Tigger therefore proposed a visit to Westfield London, the large shopping centre in White City. She argued that the centre was big enough for us to get our exercise by walking around it while remaining under cover and out of the cold. I was all in favour of that!

How interesting is a shopping centre? If you are a shopaholic, I suppose you might find it very interesting. So you might also if there was some particular item you needed and the shops there could provide it. As neither of these formulae applied to me, I found this temple to the religion of retail rather boring. On the bright side, there was a nice branch of Costa where we dawdled for a while over coffee.

I understand that Westfield London is the capital’s biggest shopping centre. I can quite believe it as we walked around most of it. It failed to inspire me, though, so I took only one photograph and even that was taken under the heading of ‘I suppose I’d better take a photo now we’re here’. The place was quite busy and it was inevitable that someone would walk into the picture as I pressed the shutter release.

Here, for what it is worth, is the photo:

A view of Westfield London Shopping Centre
A view of Westfield London Shopping Centre

Will we ever go back to Westfield London? I think it unlikely. Our shopping needs can be taken care of much nearer home and, as noted, we didn’t find the place sufficiently interesting to merit making a special effort to go there again. Still, it did make an outing and we can tick another destination off our list!

Copyright © 2017 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Out and About and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Westfield London

  1. Peter B in Florida says:

    Or, as it’s known in the US, just the local mall 🙂

    I have A Theory that says that most men lack The Shopping Gene (I know I do). My better half makes up for that lack by possessing multiple copies of said gene 😦

    • SilverTiger says:

      Because I know I have American readers, I have sometimes put ‘(mall)’ after a mention of a shopping centre but I have come to the conclusion that that is probably patronizing.

      Neither Tigger nor I are shopaholics. We go to the supermarket once a week as a duty but that’s about it. Apart from that we make reluctant forays into shops when a purchase of some sort is necessary.

      We have a decent sized shopping centre nearby, namely Brent Cross, but we haven’t visited for literally years.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

