SilverTiger is 10 years old! (The blog, that is)

Tuesday, September 20th 2016

The SilverTiger blog is ten years old today. My very first post was entitled Welcome and appeared on Wednesday, September 20th 2006.

I had become aware some time before this that such things as ‘blogs’ existed and I had looked up a few of them on the Web. I was somewhat bemused by them and not sure that I saw the point of them. Eventually, however, I decided to try this new-fangled hobby for myself.

My first attempts were purely experimental. I wrote under a number of pseudonyms and essayed most of the then popular blogging platforms. I gradually discarded those I liked least until I was left with two, Blogger and WordPress. Both were easy to use, pleasant to look at, and rich in features. What eventually swung the balance in favour of WordPress was that, in addition to daily entries called ‘posts’, it also had larger format entries called ‘pages’ which I thought would be useful for collecting a set of posts into a single document as when narrating one of our trips.

When I finally settled on what was to be my true blog (as opposed to all the experimental ones), I chose to call myself SilverTiger, a ‘screen name’ that I had been using for various purposes for quite a while.

The blog has changed over time. When I first began writing, I had little or no idea what I intended to do with it and wrote about whatever miscellaneous topics came to mind. It’s quite amusing for me to look back at those early posts and stir memories of how I was thinking and feeling at the time.

Though I did have a camera, I had set it aside and some time passed before I thought to take it out again. In the meantime, I made use of photos taken by Tigger during our trips or I borrowed pictures from the Web. When I did start taking photos again, these gradually increased in importance until SilverTiger became as it is today, largely (but not entirely) a photo-based blog. Might it change in the future? That is possible but we shall have to wait and see.

When I started the blog, I had no idea how long it would continue. I thought I might go on for a while until I had satisfied my curiosity and become bored with it. I would have been incredulous if someone had said I would still be writing it a decade from then. Later, however, I realized that in writing the blog I was creating a chronicle of our life together. We started referring to it in order to recall on what dates certain things had happened or where we had gone. The blog took on a new significance and it seemed important to continue writing it.

Today, a new decade begins with all the promise and uncertainty that that implies. I cannot even guess where I will be a decade from now and what will happen to the blog. Time alone holds the answers!

Copyright © 2016 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SilverTiger is 10 years old! (The blog, that is)

  1. brianbarder says:

    Thanks to you, Tigger and the blog for many years of pleasure. I wish you all many more of them, although at 82 I have a shrewd idea of where I’ll be in ten years time, unlike you! Keep up the good work I salute your rare distinction between blogs and posts, putting you in a small and laudable minority. And happy Christmas!
    Brian (veteran of the old Compuserve forums, forerunners of blogs).

  2. Anna says:

    Well, 10 years, that is impressive, Happy Birthday blog, and I wish you a merry Christmas and a peaceful 2017 Silver Tiger and Tigger.

  3. cabbieblog says:

    Congratulations on your 10 anniversary, even if it took until December for me to receive notification of the momentous day. Many fine London centric blogs seem to have fallen by the wayside mow only a few stalwart scriveners are left.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

