Five from Shoreditch

Tuesday, October 20th 2015

On the way home from work this evening, we stopped off in Shoreditch to see what, if anything, was new with regard to street art. I picked out five items, though I am not entirely sure that I have not posted any of them before.

Where I know the name of the artist, I have shown this beneath the painting.

Will Vibes
Will Vibes

This building changes its appearance every few days and has hosted some notable paintings, all covering the entire façade and given a high quality finish. I usually skip paintings that are obviously advertising a product or a company but thought this one deserved including on its merits. It is the result of a collaboration between Dr Martens and artist Will Vibes. The work is topped by the motto ‘STYLING WITH SATIRE’, though I don’t know how that applies here. Look carefully at the detail of the painting as there is more there than might be seen at a quick glimpse.

El Jerrino
El Jerrino

This painting, on the fence protecting a building site, shows the street artist’s tools of the trade. The artist starts by obliterating the painting already present by applying a solid coat of paint using a roller. Spray cans are the stock in trade for the new painting. The motto reads ‘ALL I COULD AFFORD HERE FOR YOU!’ a humorous but perhaps also ironic reference to the street artist’s need for money to buy the large quantities of paint used.

Airborne Mark
Airborne Mark

I noticed that purely by chance, the JCB on the building site echoed the shape of the figure in the painting. Painted by Airborne Mark, the design of this ‘origami buffalo’ is based on a folded or crumpled US $1 bill. Look closely and you can see the face of George Washington and other letters and markings that would appear on the banknote.

I don’t know the names of the painters of the following two works but if I discover them – or someone tells me – I will add them.

Street art, Shoreditch

Street art, Shoreditch

Copyright © 2015 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Out and About and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five from Shoreditch

  1. WOL says:

    A nice collection. I think the last one is my favorite.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

