Freya still poorly

Monday, June 1st 2015

I phoned the vet at 10:15 this morning and he told me that Freya’s situation has become worse. She is still not eating, or, rather, eating very little. She is drinking a lot, though there is no sign of kidney failure.

She has become so weak that she cannot stand and the vet believes that this is because the lack of food combined with drinking has washed the potassium out of her system. All in all, it looks rather as though she is about to leave us.

Tests can be performed but, because of her aggressive tendencies, she needs to be sedated for these and sedation itself poses dangers for her in her weakened condition.

If Freya can be saved, then I of course want this to be done. However, the problem of her not eating remains and it seems that any remedial  action will be but temporary. We can go on and on with this but I do not want her last days to be more miserable than they need be.

I have agreed with the vet that she be sedated one more time so that they can take blood and check for low potassium. They will also insert a drip to improve her condition. Perhaps some hopeful possibility will be suggested by the test results but if not, or if it means more and more tests and more and more sedation without any firm promise of returning her to good health, then I will not agree to putting Freya through all that misery when the result will in any case be the same.

The vet will call me again around midday with the test results and we will decide what to do next. I am bracing myself for what I think will be the parting of the ways.

Copyright © 2015 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Freya and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Freya still poorly

  1. Snoskred says:

    I’m sorry to hear this update.😦

    We went through similar things with our Big Kitty who went to Rainbow Bridge in 2013, and also with our other cat Grumpy whose kidneys shut down but she did pull through after a week on a drip and then two months of syringe feeding!

    Having been through that, I know that there are not any magic words which I can write here that will make the decision you have to make any easier, so I will just say you are in my thoughts and I am sending you many virtual *hugs*.

    I think a drip could really help Freya and when our Big Kitty started to have issues – pancreatitis to be specific – in September 2013, a vet stay and time on a drip did gain us some extra time with her, and we treasured each and every extra moment.

    We all want to give our kitties every possible chance but there does come a point at which you’ve got to say enough is enough. Only you will know what that point is, for you and your much loved Freya.

    Thinking of you.. hoping for better news on the next call. *hugs*

  2. Ancient Brit says:

    I’m sorry to hear the poor report. The thirst coupled with the poor/non-existent appetite seemed to suggest diabetes to me but of course your vet will know better. Fingers crossed that the drip does some good and helps Freya pull through.

    Casey and I send supportive thoughts to you, Tigger and most of all Freya.

  3. brianbarder says:

    How sad. Freya’s admirers will be devastated if the worst comes to the worst.

  4. Mark Elliott says:

    My thoughts are with you all.

  5. WOL says:

    I am so sorry to hear this. My thoughts are with you and Tigger, with hopes the vets can work a medical hat trick and salvage the situation. Poor dear Freya. I hope the best for her.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

