A little update on Freya

Fr1day, October 31st 2014

I last reported on Freya‘s progress on October 20th (see 200 Grams better off), saying that she had gained a little weight. This was important because prior to her operation she had been steadily losing weight, despite eating well.

In the days that followed my post, Freya continued eating well, coming to find me unerringly at meal times as though she had an alarm clock in her tummy. Apart from that, though, she was rather quiet, spending most of her time curled up asleep. Though she responded to being stroked, she showed relatively little enthusiasm for anything outside meal times.

Gradually that has changed. Before the operation, I had got used to a “slimline” Freya, trying to convince myself that this was a sign of age rather than ill health. I also noticed that her coat seemed rather dry and wiry, more so than I remembered from times past. Since my last report, however, Freya has put on weight and now looks more like the cat she used to be. When I stroke her, I notice how soft and silky her fur now is. She is beginning to take an interest in things again. Sometimes, even when a meal isn’t due, she comes to find me at my desk and if I don’t notice her, she gives me a tap on my arm to announce her presence.

If you need further proof of her return to normal, here it is: Freya has started watching cat videos on Tigger’s iPad again. It’s nice to have her back🙂

Copyright © 2014 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Freya and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A little update on Freya

  1. WOL says:

    I imagine it took a while for her medication to start doing its stuff. So glad Freya is doing better.

    • SilverTiger says:

      I expect it takes a while for the body to adjust to the new situation. First there’s a pathological thyroid then no thyroid at all. All being the adjustment is well on the way.

  2. Mark Elliott says:

    How is her tail? a sleek, fat tail is a good sign of a well-fed, healthy cat.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

