Home again

Tuesday, September 9th 2014

We are back from our short visit to New York. Our flight landed at Heathrow at about 6:15 am, having departed from Newark at 18:25 yesterday evening. The journey did not last 12 hours because the timings include the 5-hour difference between New York and London.

I am hoping that our stay was too short to cause jetlag. Airline seating does not provide much leg room – especially when the passenger in front of you tips his seat back for the whole journey – and it’s difficult to find a comfortable position to sleep, but I did manage to doze off for a couple of hours and I am hoping this will be enough to convince my body that it has just spent two normal days separated by a normal period of sleep. Will this work?

We went home from the airport to dump our bags and then left again almost immediately for Liverpool Street Station. There we had breakfast prior to my catching the 10:18 Chingford train to go to fetch Freya from the cattery. I leave the train at Highams Park and take a cab to the cattery. The last time I did this, the cab driver, who was not a native speaker of English, misunderstood the address and took me to the wrong end of town. Today I was careful to be understood and everything went perfectly.

Freya and I caught the train back to Liverpool Street where Tigger was waiting for us and all three took the number 205 bus back to the Angel.

We have spent the rest of the day unpacking and relaxing. We have the rest of the week off from work to help us recover from the change of time zone.

Copyright © 2014 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Home again

  1. He Who Talks... says:

    I hope, that unlike me, you don’t snore! I have a horror of long-haul flights due to my embarrassing window-rattling sleeping habits. When flying, I usually tank up on energy drinks to stay awake and tranquilisers to stop the cafeine jitters!

  2. What a night/day out! (a rather long time to be folded up and crunched. Really difficult to sleep) Hope all are snug and cozy at home now

  3. WOL says:

    Thought I’d trot out that tried and true saying, “East or West, Home is Best.”

    • SilverTiger says:

      London has its detractors and I understand their criticisms. For me, though, it has become home. It is familiar to me now – though too big to know in its entirety so always reserving novelties and surprises – and wandering the streets of London I feel I am in my element. New York now seems like a nightmare that I had one night some weeks ago.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

