Sculpture in the City 2014 (Part 2)

Friday, July 11th 2014

This evening, on the way home from work, we had the opportunity of completing our viewing of the sculptures forming this year’s Sculpture in the City 2014. This is Part 2 and for Part 1 see here: Sculpture in the City 2014 (Part 1). You will find maps of the locations of the individual sculptures here and here. As before, I will give the titles of the works I show you and the artists’ names but for a description on each work, see the City of London’s About the Artwork and the Artists.

There are 14 works on show and in Part 1 I showed you 8. Below are pictures of the remaining 6 sculptures. In line with modern usage of the term, “sculpture” is given a broad interpretation. In some cases, the word “installation” might seem more appropriate (for example, see item 12) but in modern art, it doesn’t do to split hairs. One of the most exciting things about modern art is the way that it jostles and overturns traditional categories.

As before, I present the works in the order in which we visited them, not in numerical order, and I show three views of each.

(11) Kiss
(11) Kiss (11) Kiss
(11) Kiss
Nigel Hall (2000)

(10) Southern Shade I; Southern Shade V
(10) Southern Shade I; Southern Shade V (10) Southern Shade I; Southern Shade V
(10) Southern Shade I; Southern Shade V
Nigel Hall (2012)

In between the two parts (see top picture), you can see the white enamelled “lectern” that displays information on the neighbouring artwork and a map showing the locations of all the sculptures.

(14) Parallel Field
(14) Parallel Field (14) Parallel Field
(14) Parallel Field
Anthony Gormley (1990)

(6) Shapes in the Clouds I, IV, V
(6) Shapes in the Clouds (6) Shapes in the Clouds I, IV, V
(6) Shapes in the Clouds I, IV, V
Peter Randall-Page (2013)

(13) Time here becomes space, Space here becomes time

(13) Time here becomes space, Space here becomes time (13) Time here becomes space, Space here becomes time
(13) Time here becomes space, Space here becomes time
Cerith Wyn Evans (2004)

(12) False Ceiling
(12) False Ceiling (12) False Ceiling
(12) False Ceiling
Richard Wentworth (1995)

Taken together Sculpture in the City 2014 (Part 1) and Sculpture in the City 2014 (Part 2) show all 14 sculptures. If you can visit the artworks yourself, I encourage you to do so, but if not, then I hope my pictures will give you some idea of them. Sculpture is a three-dimensional art (one of the reasons why I find it so fascinating) and nothing can replace seeing a work from all different angles. A group of three pictures can but give an impression of the real thing. I hope that is better than nothing.

Copyright © 2014 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Out and About and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sculpture in the City 2014 (Part 2)

  1. WOL says:

    I really like Shapes in the Clouds I, IV and V. They are fascinating. Being able to walk around them and see how the variegations and shapes change would be fascinating. As for those two sculptures standing right in the middle of the walkway — ? If I was in a hurry and had to walk around both of them, I would not be thinking “art.”

    • SilverTiger says:

      That’s one of the things I like about sculpture in the public space, the fact that you can walk around it and interact with it. It becomes part of the environment and the environment is changed by it.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

