Sunshine and showers

Friday, September 28th 2012

The Shard
The Shard
From Borough Road

I haven’t been out much this week, partly because of the weather – sunshine and showers, as the title says – and partly because I have been working at catching up on our trip to Glasgow. (For my latest effort see here.) I did go to meet Tigger from work today, even though she was on the late shift which means travelling in rush-hour conditions. While in the Borough, that outpost of London that grew up around the southern end of London Bridge when this was the only bridge and the only way into London from the south, if you discount the foul-mouthed ferry boatmen, I took the above photo.

From here you get a view of the Shard. If it were almost anything other than the Shard, I would say a good view but, in my opinion, you cannot have a good view of something bad. We were enjoying one of the moments of sunshine on a day of sunshine and showers and this provided a dramatic backdrop to the picture.

Now that the Shard has been glazed, it has been discovered that is is causing a hazard: sunlight reflecting off the sloping sides is dazzling drivers as they approach London Bridge.

We broke our journey, as we often do these days, at a branch of Caffè Nero near the Bunhill Fields Burial Ground. Relaxing over coffee is a good way to unwind and to catch up with one another’s day.

Copyright © 2012 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Out and About and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunshine and showers

  1. Mark Elliott says:

    I’m afraid that I must disagree about the Shard. From what I’ve seen (on the Web, only) it looks like an exciting addition to the London skyline – or at least it’s not as bland and anonymous as the usual rectangular fare the town planners thrust upon the whole of Britain in the 60s and 70s. However, I reserve my final judgement until I’ve seen it for myself. And, of course, I don’t know what was demolished to make way for it – a 60s monstrosity, I hope!

    • SilverTiger says:

      The Shard is a monstrous example of the excessively high buildings that are being allowed to disfigure the face and skyline of London. They are monuments to greed and to the corruption of a city government that allows them to be built in defiance of ordinances limiting the height on new buildings in London – ordinances established for very sound reasons. Its stupid shape owes nothing to artistic inspiration but is a concession to the laws banning the blocking of sight lines to London’s more famous and better designed buildings.

      It will soon be joined by a gaggle of similarly absurdly tall and ill designed structures.

  2. Thought your comment about the view of the shard was funny. (I do hope it isn’t a sign of things to come) All the buildings here are new compared to yours…and there are constant battles and problems with the reflected glare – not only for motorist, but in windows of other buildings…reflection even made it too hot in offices facing one very shiny newcomer.

    • SilverTiger says:

      Tall buildings are a particular scourge in London which has famous and well loved skylines hitherto protected by laws limiting the height of new buildings. These laws have been waived already several times and this is something that I, and many others, deeply resent.

      I suspect that architects and planners have little understanding of the problems they are storing up for the future.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

