Paw not as sore as before

Following medical advice, I kept the bandage on my hand for 48 hours. Then came the moment to remove it and treat the wound. Guess how much I was looking forward to that. Correct: not at all.

Just a small plaster
Just a small plaster
It still needs treating gently, though

In the end it was not as traumatic an experience as the dedicated coward that I am had been fearing. The wound appeared as a thin red line across my finger, neatly stitched together.

Each day, after gentle washing, the wound is cleaned by first rolling a cotton bud soaked in hydrogen peroxide solution over it and then rolling a dry one over it to remove the moisture. A squeeze of lotion from a small tube is applied (I think this is anti-biotic) and then a waterproof sticky plaster can be affixed to cover the wound. If you are not too squeamish to look closely at the picture, you can probably see some of the stitching.

t is tempting to call this my unlucky finger as it is the one I damaged once before when I fell over in the street and dislocated the middle joint. This was slightly embarrassing as I was returning home from the supermarket where I had bought, among other items, a couple of bottles of beer. These smashed as I fell over, splashing my clothes with beer. I felt it necessary to explain carefully to the hospital staff that, even though my clothes stank of booze, I had not been drinking before falling over!

I have to return to the surgery on December 1st for the stitches to be removed. After that it will still be necessary to treat the finger with care pending a full recovery. Then, all being well, I can start to enjoy Life without the Bobble.

Copyright © 2011 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paw not as sore as before

  1. petrichoric says:

    Sorry to hear about your finger, but it looks like you are well on your way to a full recovery. One of my cats – who was injured – bit my thumb last Saturday, and it is quite amazing just how much your life can be affected by one painful finger. Of course, Americans are panic merchants and advised me to go to the hospital since cat bites are apparently very dangerous, but, well, I don’t have health insurance, so screw that. The thumb is nearly completely better.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

