Freya is unwell

Freya hasn’t been eating for about four days. She occasionally goes to the food bowl, has a half-hearted nibble and then goes away again. This is so unlike her that I have become concerned.

Being a somewhat nervous cat, Freya tends to groom too much and often suffers from hairballs which produce the usual messy result, often at night and often under the bed out of reach. Such are the joys of living with a cat.

I thought that she might be suffering from a particularly stubborn hairball and rang the vet for advice. They suggested that I had better bring her in.

Taking Freya anywhere is a delicate operation. As soon as she sees the basket being taken down, she runs to hide in the remotest corner and often a merry chase ensues. It’s difficult to plan outings because I don’t want to put her in the basket too long in advance but I don’t want to be made late by having to scrabble around trying to catch her.

Freya
Freya
Photo by Tigger

Cats are sneaky, but monkey cunning has the edge. I managed to put her in the basket almost before she realized what was going on and we arrived at the vet’s with 5 minutes to spare.

The examination was inconclusive. There were no obvious blockages and nothing else obviously wrong. Freya has lost weight gradually over a couple of years but that would normally be a good things as she was very overweight to start with. In present circumstances, however, it could possibly be a symptom of something.

We decided to take a blood sample. It could have been done easily and quickly with a calm cat (our vet is remarkably dextrous) but Freya was determined to fight all the way. There was no option but to leave her to calm down, and perhaps give her a little sedative, before the next attempt. They will call me later to go and collect her and to make an appointment to discuss the findings with the vet.

Freya is a nervous cat and her present circumstances – among strangers doing things to her that she doesn’t want them to do – must be very stressful for her. By sympathy, it is stressful for me too. If it were possible, I would never let her out of my sight.

I know that my worrying cannot help her or make her feel better. The sensible thing would be to set worry aside and to forget about it until the phone rings. But what it is sensible to do is not always possible to do.

I go about my business literally “acting normal”, while thinking of Freya and waiting for the phone call.

Copyright © 2011 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Freya and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Freya is unwell

  1. Reluctant Blogger says:

    I hope that it is good news and that they find something trivial wrong that is easily cured. And yes, keep busy in the meantime and make sure you post an update when you do know what is going on.
    Phoenix also produces hairballs regularly – she managed to blast one under the fridge this morning!

    • SilverTiger says:

      Thanks. I am anxiously waiting and will post as soon as I know anything.

      We got fed up with Freya puking under the big double bed, where she presumably goes for sanctuary but where we cannot reach, that we spread sheets of newspaper underneath. Now when she looses one off, we just have to pull out the appropriate sheets and replace them with clean ones.

  2. AEJ says:

    I hope everything is ok, or if it’s not, that it’s easily fixed!

  3. Sue says:

    It’s pointless saying don’t worry of course I’ve been there and done that. Fingers crossed it may be just a virus that with a bit of TLC and medication she’ll pull through it and perky up again. Do keep us posted. I too am now thinking of Freya. Sue

  4. WOL says:

    As they say, “Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof,” so I will keep my suspicions to myself. I do hope she will be Ok. Commiserations and well-wishes.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

