My cup runneth over (no more)

The other evening, we settled down to watch a video and, as is my wont, I brought my tea pot and mug with me. The better to watch the video, the lights were turned down low and a romantic penumbra prevailed.

With one eye on the screen, I carefully poured tea into the mug. Unfortunately, the interior of the mug being of a dark colour, I did not see the level of the tea rise, reach the top of the mug, overflow into my lap…

Ignoring annoyance and a certain amount of pain to a tender part of my anatomy as scalding tea bathed the affected area, I will simply say that it was fortunate that Freya was not sitting on my lap as she often does, for that would have caused a stressful diplomatic incident…

Remedial measures
Remedial measures

The problem was obviously caused by the fact that the capacity of the tea pot was greater than the capacity of the mug. Therefore, the solution was either a smaller tea pot or a larger mug.

I like my tea pot. It produces a fine brew. So I had to get a bigger mug. Hence the one in the picture. Never mind the picture or the fact that it says “Oh bother” on the other side. The point is that it can hold the entire contents of the tea pot and then some, thus avoiding overflow, even when pouring in low light conditions. Freya need not fear a scalding from hot tea.

Tigger calls it my tea barrel because of its rotund figure. I refer to it as “the Eeyore mug”, to remind myself that I was the ass who spilt hot hot over myself.

Copyright © 2011 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Domestic matters and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My cup runneth over (no more)

  1. AEJ says:

    Here in America you’d simply sue yourself over the injury. I wonder who would win?

  2. Ed says:

    For personal reasons, the donkey is one of my favourite animals… So I like your new mug !

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

