For the snow it snoweth every day

(With apologies to William Shakespeare for mauling his original song1.)

It has continued to snow in London and, what is less common, the snow remains on the ground. More accurately, some snow remains on the ground. Where there is heavy traffic in vehicles or in pedestrians’ feet, the snow turns to water but elsewhere, on gardens, in corners or on little used paths, it builds up into a crunchy layer.

The gritting lorry must have passed in the early hours as there were heaps of gravel on the pavement when we set out this morning. Hereabouts, gritting is still done in the old-fashioned way: a lorry drives slowly along and someone tosses out gravel here and there with a shovel. It’s not an exact science but it seems to work well enough.

Christmas trees on sale in White Conduit Street
Christmas trees on sale in White Conduit Street (an off-shoot of Chapel Market)

Not having any special plans for the day, we decided to go to the Alpino for breakfast and then tackle the crowds in Sainsbury’s. It was still snowing but in a fairly desultory way. We avoided the side streets that might be slippery and stuck to the well trodden main routes.

After breakfast we made our way along Chapel Market to White Conduit Street where we cut through to the supermarket. The stalls were out in force though many had plastic sheets and other coverings over the goods. “Mr One-Ninety-Nine”, the CD vendor, was playing Christmas tunes, predictably enough. All of his CDs sell for £1.99, as he loudly and frequently declares. Hence our name for him.

Bicycle in the snow
Bicycle in the snow
(Someone will have a cold bottom later)

The supermarket was crowded but not as badly as we had feared and we got the shopping done in good time, even picking up a few extra goodies for Christmas.

Having returned home and put the shopping away, had a little rest and drunk a cup of tea, we decided that we didn’t really want to go out again into the cold. For once we will stay at home and play couch potatoes. Well, why not? We get out and about the rest of the year and now that the weather has turned, it is time to enjoy the delights of staying at home in the warm. In a cupboard near here there is a panettone with my name on it…🙂

________

1You no doubt recognize this as a mangling of the refrain in the Clown’s song in Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night.

Copyright © 2010 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Islington and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to For the snow it snoweth every day

  1. AEJ says:

    Staying inside sounds like a good plan for the day. We have gray skies today but so far no snow. I hear it’s possible for tonight. Those are very tiny Christmas trees. They are called “bushes” here in America.

    • SilverTiger says:

      Perhaps you have bigger rooms than is usual here. We could manage a 10-feet tree in our Georgian house but that’s exceptional.

      What concerns me more is the fact that these are not really “trees” at all: they have been shorn of their roots and stuck into wooden bases, to make sure no one can regrow them for next year. This is hugely wasteful. While these “trees” may have been obtained legally, a lot are stolen from forests.

      • AEJ says:

        Yes, I hate seeing real Christmas trees for sale. Most of the Christmas trees sold here in the States come from Christmas tree farms. I love my old fake Christmas tree. From year to year it serves its purpose, while leaving the real trees to frolic in the forests.

  2. WOL says:

    I had a potted Norfolk Island pine for almost 30 years that I used for a living Xmas tree each year. Alas, year before last, it expired. I’ve started another one, quite tiny as yet, but with hopes I’ll have it as long as I did Phred. I’m beginning to feel truly guilty that it is as dry as a bone here. Not a scrap of moisture — snow or otherwise — although it has been cold enough to snow (-6C last night). I’m having some Earl Grey with a dollop of pomegranate juice in, and I think I hear some ciabatta calling my name — buttered and lightly zotted in the microwave.

    • SilverTiger says:

      I like the idea of reusing Christmas trees and it is sad to think of thousands of young trees dying and being thrown away every year.

      I have never liked Earl Grey though Tigger drinks it on occasion.

  3. I’m sticking to home like a limpet at the moment. I just don’t want to be anywhere else

    • SilverTiger says:

      As long as one is not obliged to go out by work or other commitments, it’s the best thing to do, especially as the weather will be so much worse in your part of the world.

  4. Ted Marcus says:

    I tune in to BBC Radio 4 on weekday mornings (afternoons for you) to hear the radio plays. So I heard this morning about all the snow and the closure of Gatwick and Heathrow. But here in supposedly-sunny Southern California, whoever is in charge of the weather is faithfully following Shakespeare’s original text. The rain it raineth every day until Thursday or Friday, with the long-range forecast calling for a wet Christmas instead of a white one.

    The weather has been strange for several months. It may well be an Apocalyptic Sign exhorting us to “repent now (and return those library books).” Either that or it’s the natural chaotic climate variation exacerbated by the Global Warming that conservative politicians insist is a myth. I had to cancel an October vacation in Monterey because of unseasonable overcast and rain. But I did get to finally try out the Los Angeles equivalent of your Tube, to visit the “downtown” part of Los Angeles which pretends to be a city center but really isn’t.

    Yes, we actually have a light rail system, a few miles of which is actually underground (at a cost of, I think, $2 billion per mile). It’s quite a pleasant way to travel, if you happen to be going where it operates. It’s almost like visiting a real city. But the nearest station is seven miles from where I live, and the only way to get there is to drive.

    I also bought a compact “walk-around” camera, a Canon S90. It’s small enough to fit in a shirt pocket, including a lens equivalent to 28-105mm and raw files. It’s much more convenient and fun than my aging DSLR, and in good light the image quality is effectively indistinguishable from it. So I can take local trips like you do, and write about them on my Web site.

    Happy Saturnalia!

    • SilverTiger says:

      Light railway systems come into their own as traffic level build up so that even buses have a hard time keeping their schedules.

      Prolonged rain has a depressing effect on people and communities but, as long as it doesn’t cause flooding, it is arguably better than snow which is much more disruptive.

      I often wish I had a small camera but I don’t think I can bring myself to use one that doesn’t have a “proper” viewfinder.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

