Snow in the city

We awoke to find that it had snowed. When we peered around the curtains, flakes were still falling but by the time I stirred myself to action, the fall had ceased and a timid thaw was in progress.

City snow
City snow

This is a view from our back door across what I call the Nature Reserve otherwise known as the back garden.

This is the pretty view. In contrast, the main road in front of the house has already been swept clear by the wheels of vehicles and the feet of passers-by, though untrodden corners remain covered with a layer of whiteness.

It has not been this cold for a long time and we have had the heating on for longer periods than usual. Tigger has been unwell and stayed at home yesterday and today. Now that she is on the mend we can feel more cheerful and enjoy being at home together in the warm.

Copyright © 2010 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in About Us and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Snow in the city

  1. AEJ says:

    I’m glad you’re enjoying that pretty snow! I hope Tigger is all better soon.

  2. WOL says:

    Now I’m (sort of) jealous. Just about all my UK blog friends have reported snow and us dry as a bone here (21% humidity). I firmly maintain that the best part of having snow is looking out the window at it. 41F(5C) here at 11:30 in the morning, and my heater just came on. Bundle up and stay warm. Glad Tigger is on the mend. Better lay in the appropriate remedies and nostrums. It’ll be your turn to have her “bug” about the end of next week. Hope you’ve had your flu shots.

    • SilverTiger says:

      Yes, I prefer my snow in pictures. I would be quite happy to live in a snowless climate.

      We’ve had our flu jabs but they are unfortunately of no help against the common cold, and Tigger has had a particularly nasty one.

      It’s quite possible that I shall get it in my turn. This is an instance where love meaning that you share everything isn’t so much fun! We’ll see.

  3. Reluctant Blogger says:

    Well, obviously I don’t wish to get all competitive about snow, but that is a very puny and frugal amount of snow!

    Glad that Tigger is on the mend and almost back to full bounce. If she needs a further pick me up tell her to try Berocca – it’s fantastic stuff!

    • SilverTiger says:

      Yes, I know. The snow is thicker in some parts of the country. As you say, though, it isn’t a competition. Any snow is bad news as far as I am concerned.

      Tigger seems nearly back to full bounce, thanks.

  4. WE are coming to the end of Day 7 house arrest! Yes North York Moors calling London! Tis grim oop North especially when the snow hammers on door and demands to come inside to our little world! Still – we have supplies, warmth and alcohol – tough I know but we will pull through! lol! Oh and did I mention there is more snow to come at the weekend? Yeah – we know how to live! Nice to meet you!

    • SilverTiger says:

      I know Yorkshire is a beautiful place but can get very cold in winter. Let’s hope you survive the siege.

      Staying snug and warm, as you suggest, is the best way to deal with winter conditions.

  5. Ed says:

    It’s been very cold here too. And everything looks so beautiful thanks to the snow. People have to slow down in everything, which is not a bad thing.

    • SilverTiger says:

      To judge from news reports, some people in the north have had to slow down to the point where they can’t move at all!

      We’ve had more snow overnight here in London too.

      I hope this cold snap will prove to be our winter for this year and that we can soon get back to some semblance of normality.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

