Flying objects

These photos show a total of three flying objects taken on two occasions.

We saw the first pair, a couple of aeroplanes, as we were walking along St John Street yesterday morning. Our attention was attracted by the fact that these two aircraft were flying close together, an unusual sight over the city.

Close formation
Close formation

I have included part of a tree in the above photo to give an idea of scale.

"Close-up"
“Close-up”

The second photo (above) is a “pseudo-close-up”, obtained by cropping the first photo. It’s probably difficult to identify the planes (and thus suggest a reason for their behaviour) against the glare of the sky but an aircraft buff may be able to make them out.

The third flying object is a living one, discovered in the bathroom this morning.

Is this a Harlequin?
Is this a Harlequin?

Tigger was awoken in the night by something landing on her face and then discovered this visitor in the bathroom this morning.

We think it must be one of the dreaded Harlequin ladybirds because, as Tigger put it with impeccable logic, “Why else would it be indoors?”

Harlequin ladybirds, as you probably know, though resembling the common or garden ladybirds that are regarded with affection by young and old, are in fact foreign interlopers. They are tougher and more aggressive than the native species which are suffering from the invasion in consequence.

I think Harlequins come into houses and other buildings to shelter from the weather whereas native ladybirds rarely appear indoors – hence Tigger’s remark.

I case you are wondering, Tigger expelled the impromptu visitor when she left to go to work.

Copyright © 2010 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Sightings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Flying objects

  1. WOL says:

    A shame about the interloper. Ladybird beetles here eat the aphids that eat my roses. I’m always delighted to see them and wish them ‘bon appetite’ whenever I do. (Unfortunately, I also have those aphid herding ants in my yard, too.) It is hard to get perspective on the aircraft. There’s no way to tell the vertical separation between them. The top one looks like a commercial passenger jet. The bottom one could be something like a Lear jet, and just appear larger because it is lower/closer. I think the regulation is that there has to be at least 1000 feet of vertical separation between aircraft — 2000 feet in some places.

    • SilverTiger says:

      I’m all for ladybirds because they are useful as well as pretty. I have pretend ones scattered over my desk. The problem is the Harlequins who have come in like unwanted lodgers and are roughing up the natives.

      I understand the problem with aphids. As an animal lover I have the problem that some of the animals I love kill and eat other animals that I love. This has always been a problem for me which I haven’t yet entirely resolved.

      There was some relative movement between the two planes which further increased the feeling that they were “together” in some way though I agree that at such a distance it is hard to tell and perspective effects come into play.

  2. AEJ says:

    I think your planes are explained by an article I found today online:

    http://www.wral.com/news/greenguide/story/8587224/

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

