Friday is omelette day

You may remember that chez les tigres, Friday is Omelette Day. Well, it is if we are not otherwise engaged, for example chasing half-way across Britain (or lately, Europe) on a courier run.

As usual, we went to the friendly little Italian-run cafe round the corner from Tigger’s workplace. Tigger has her Spanish omelette (yes, a Spanish omelette in an Italian cafe!) with salad while I have mine with chips. Salad may be healthier but chips, well, chips is chips!

London Bridge from the front seat
London Bridge from the front seat

Today the weather is serving up a solid helping of that rare commodity, rain. It has rained all day, an annoying rain that is just a little too heavy to brave without an umbrella and I do so dislike carrying a dripping umbrella on the bus and the tube.

After lunch, I left poor Tigger to do an afternoon’s work and nipped home. I managed to get a front seat upstairs on the bus and took a few photos along the way. You can see the wet conditions in the photo above as we cross London Bridge.1

King William Street, looking towards the Bank of England
King William Street, looking towards the Bank of England

When I reached home, I met my neighbour from the flat above, on his way out. He gave me some disturbing news which I will say more about later.

A sensible tiger would have stayed at home in the dry but when was I ever sensible? To misquote a certain C.J., “I didn’t get where I am today by being sensible.” So off I went, wet weather notwithstanding, to meet Tigger from work. We did plan to make a certain purchase at the Old Street branch of Argos but put it off because of the weather.

That didn’t stop us dropping into Starbuck’s at Liverpool Street station, however, for coffee and cake. Well it is Friday and so I think we deserve a treat.

Starbuck's at Liverpool Street station
Starbuck’s at Liverpool Street station

I don’t know what use the premises served before Starbuck’s occupied them but notice the ornate carving around the mirror over the fireplace. Perhaps this was once part of a hotel, long since turned into other things.

I took the photo with my phone camera in order to remain inconspicuous. However, I forgot that the flash was turned on… Oh dear. Fortunately, no one objected.

Now for my neighbour’s bad news. Do you remember the episode of the Fungus of the stairs? It took a long time and a modicum of annoyance but the problem was eventually dealt with. Or so we thought.

Being something of a handyman, my neighbour was exploring the common area of the house, looking for somewhere to store his tools. First, he discovered fungus on the stairs…

He found fungus on the stairs...
He found fungus on the stairs…

and proceeding further, he came upon a nice big cupboard, just right for storing his tools, but guess what was lurking inside…

This is what was lurking inside!
This is what was lurking inside!

… More fungus, a big pad of it!

I suggested that my neighbour might like to call Partners for Improvement in Islington, who are responsible for carrying out repairs but he suggest that I do it. I was not altogether surprised.

There are four households in our block but, without there ever being a vote on it as far as I recall, I seem to have been elected unpaid concierge. My phone number is in the phonebook of every works foreman in the borough. Our doorbell is the first to be rung when they want access.

It’s funny in a way and I at least find out what is going on and who’s doing what and why. So I have someone coming to look at the fungus next Wednesday, some time between midday and 5:30. In the meantime, I keep looking at the front door, half-expecting to see a fungoid tentacle feeling its way into our flat…

________

1Note for American readers. Americans often think that the famous turreted bridge designed to fit in with the style of the Tower of London is London Bridge. It isn’t. It is Tower Bridge. London Bridge is the relatively unremarkable bridge to the west that connects Southwark with the City. If it is any consolation, some provincial Brits have also been known to make the same mistake though they should know better.

Copyright © 2010 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Life's problems, Out and About and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Friday is omelette day

  1. Peter Harvey says:

    In Spain accommodation such as yours (and mine) must by law have an owners’ association, which collects funds from each owner to manage common areas like the staircase. This is calculated in proportion to the area of the flat occupied. ‘El Presidente’ is chosen from among the owners. If elected you cannot refuse to serve. Sometimes it rotates among the owners and one year it’s your turn. We haven’t had to do it having been excused on linguistic grounds which I am more than pleased to keep valid! It is an owners’ association and tenants have no voice, being represented by their landlords.

    • SilverTiger says:

      That is our situation – being tenants. The landlord is Islington Council.

      Any tenant can report problems (the phone number is an 0800 number, free of charge) and inspection is usually done within a few days of the report being entered. As long as the person making the report accepts to provide access to the inspectors, all is well. Problems start when the work is undertaken because this is given to any one of a number of firms and these people often turn up on spec and fail to gain entry or they say they are coming on a specific day, I wait in, and they never appear.

      The work can also drag on sometimes. It has taken months to cure the previous fungus problem with the work being left half-done for weeks at a time, for example. Moreover, recurrence of the fungus problem is not the first time that it has become obvious that the work done was not sufficiently broad in scope and has not entirely cured the problem.

      Apart from that, they are very good!

  2. Peter Harvey says:

    PS For reasons lost in the mists of time, we eat eggs on Wednesdays.

  3. WOL says:

    Ew! fungus amongus! In a way, it’s good your neighbor found it. It looks as though its almost about to get out of hand. I’ll be interested to see how things progress once “the guy comes over*” (as we say here) to have a look at it. Hope he doesn’t open up a can of worms!

    (*Handy Phrases in Texan: “A guy’s coming over (date/time) to look at the (item needing attention).” Meaning: A repairman has been scheduled to come assess the problem. He will charge you a hefty lump of cash just to walk in the door. )

    • SilverTiger says:

      I shall certainly report any interesting developments.

      The word “guy” is used here by the young,self-defined trendy folk and unimaginative people who can’t think of a better word. In addition, it is used to describe the dummy placed on the fire on Bonfire Night, November 5th, as this is supposed to be a simulacrum of Guy Fawkes.

      • WOL says:

        “England and America are two countries separated by the same language.” sums it up. Another of my bad speech habits is another Texanism, “fixing to” meaning “about to do something” -as in- “I’m fixing to go to the store.” Rather embarassing when I think how much a well crafted, well written book delights me — One thing I shall always be grateful to my parents for is the love of language they gave me.

        • SilverTiger says:

          It’s hard not to be influenced by the idioms we hear around us all the time. It’s a natural process, after all, and the one by which we learn language in the first place.

          When I went to Yorkshire to go to university, I found I had to adopt certain local words and pronunciations otherwise people failed to understand me. Then, when I went back home, I had to switch back again because the Yorkshire expressions led to misunderstanding in their turn.

          This is why it makes sense to see “English”, not as a language, but as a family of languages, closely related but not identical to one another. Thus England and America and not separated by the same language but joined by the fact that their separate languages are similar enough for them to understand one another most of the time.

  4. AEJ says:

    There’s a fungus among us! (My father’s favorite saying)

  5. AEJ says:

    Damn. WOL beat me to it.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

