Strange week

It’s been a strange week during which nothing much has happened and life has seemed to stand still. I have felt curiously inactive though I cannot say why. Perhaps the weather has something to do with it.

Cafe, Candid Arts Trust
Cafe, Candid Arts Trust

I did go out for a walk on Wednesday but got fed up halfway through and went for a look at the antiques market, then went home.

The picture shows the façade of the Candid Arts Trust and the entrance to its cafe. The cafe is a rather off-beat sort of place and reminds me of a students’ union rather than a cafe. They do good food, though, and the place has a relaxing atmosphere. It’s worth a look if you happen by.

Red building, Angel
Red building, Angel

This little building resides near the Angel crossroads and it fascinates me. Today it seems to house some anonymous offices and its original purpose is unknown (to me, at any rate). I notice that the building to its right has a set of almost identical arches though I don’t know what to make of that, either. The Gothic style of the windows and the cross on the top of the façade make it look vaguely ecclesiastical.

Duncan Terrace: the gardens hide a secret
Duncan Terrace: the gardens hide a secret

Round the corner one comes to this quiet cul de sac of Georgian Houses. It is very tranquil, considering its proximity to several major roads. Its chief peculiarity is that is has public gardens running down its centre. They are well used too.

I am told that where the gardens now stand, the New River once ran, bringing much needed water to this part of London, and that the neighbours would have seen it through their windows. I expect the “river” is now confined to a buried pipe.

The old Clerkenwell County Court
The old Clerkenwell County Court

Also in Duncan Terrace is the old Clerkenwell County Court. You might just be able to see the words “Judge’s Entrance” over the door. It has closed, business being moved to the new Clerkenwell and Shoreditch court. Apparently, the plan is to turn it into housing. One can’t argue with that.

Plaque to Joe Orton
Plaque to Joe Orton

Plaque to Caroline Chisholm

The side streets also have their points of interest if you have a sense of history or are merely curious. In Noel Street is this plaque to Joe Orton, though it is so high up that you can hardly see it.

In Charlton Place there is a blue plaque in honour of the Victorian philanthropist, Caroline Chisholm, though she is little remembered these days, it seems.

On the opposite side of the street, above a doorway, was this scallop-shell decoration.

Scallop-shell decoration above a doorway
Scallop-shell decoration above a doorway

I don’t know what period it dates from. I could easily imagine this as an illustration in one of Blake’s books of poetry but there is also something Art Deco about it. It is rather handsome but also a little mysterious.

Rheidol Mews
Rheidol Mews

Mysterious too was this entrance which seemed to promise a picturesque world within. Another time I would have gone to investigate but today I wasn’t at my best.

Talking of mews, I made a new friend in the shape of a monochrome cat.

A monochrome cat
A monochrome cat

He – or might it be she? – rolled on the ground as a sign of friendship before dashing off on some suddenly remembered errand.

Cafe Riva
Cafe Riva

Today was Omelette Day, but our Italian friends have taken to month of August as a holiday so we went to Cafe Riva, near Borough tube station, instead. It’s quite a good cafe which does a brisk trade in take-away food at lunchtimes and has some tables at the back. It has a slightly retro feel to the decor.

A slightly retro feel
A slightly retro feel

Trying to be discreet (i.e. unnoticed), I took these photos with my phone camera. The waitress came across and asked whether I was taking photos in order to advertise their cafe. So much for being discreet!

I said I would give it a mention on my blog.

Copyright © 2010 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Out and About and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Strange week

  1. AEJ says:

    This was a very strange week for me as well. I’m glad you were able to get out and about for a bit, at least. Some fresh air usaully always does a body good.

    Your response to the question regarding advertising the cafe should have been, “Sure, if you want to give me a free lunch.” ;0)

    • SilverTiger says:

      We know the people at the cafe and the associated hotel, but not the waitress, who was new.

      I noticed that there was only one waitress on duty whereas there were usually three. Maybe that has something to do with the economic situation.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

