One thousand

I have never bothered to mark this blog’s birthdays or any other tokens of passing time but it has now reached a landmark that I do feel is worth mentioning: what you are reading is post number one thousand. Though I say it myself, one thousand posts in just under four years isn’t bad going for a one-tiger effort.

Will I, in just under four years’ time be writing post number two thousand? It’s an intriguing thought but one cannot say: life sets many traps and even the wariest of us get caught in the end.

When I started this blog, it was really just to try out blogging and to “see what all the fuss was about”. At that time, I didn’t understand why ordinary people would write about their daily lives online for all to see or why others would bother to read what they had written. I thought I would probably write a few posts, just to familiarize myself with the genre, and then lose interest and forget all about it.

I was to discover, however, that there is something addictive about blogging. What is it? I don’t really know, and I suspect each blogger is motivated by a different set of impulses. The wonderful thing about a blog is that you can make of it what you will.

One source of energy to keep me going in the early days was the community spirit of bloggers. Very quickly, I found myself linking to other blogs and conversing via comments with their authors, who returned the compliment. Most if not all of those early blogging friends have since quit the scene and although others have come along, I cannot help feeling that the blogging scene – at least for personal blogs – is a lot quieter these days than it used to be. Even so, there are many very good, lively blogs around: just look at my blogroll for a fine sample.

Perhaps the main stimulus in writing my blog was what you might call joie de vivre. In 2005, I left my old life and started a new one with Tigger. While the events that precipitated the change caused heart-ache and anxiety at the time, this new beginning for me was exciting and my life was suddenly full of fun and joy. It may sound like a cliché, but until then I hadn’t known what happiness could come from loving and being loved in return. Simply blogging about our life together was one way of celebrating that unexpected happiness.

These one thousand posts have covered a important period of my life, perhaps my time of greatest happiness. If another thousand are to follow, what will they tell of? Not having a crystal ball (or any belief in what it would tell me if I had one!), I cannot say.

The posts will speak for themselves and for my life.

Copyright © 2010 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One thousand

  1. AEJ says:

    Hi there, I found you through my friend Catz’s blog. Congratulations on your 1,000th post! I’m glad the past few years have been good ones for you, and I look forward to catching up on those 1,000 posts — though it may take me a while.🙂

    • SilverTiger says:

      Yes, it’s a good blog, Catz Mews, with nice photos. I am a long-time fan.

      Welcome to SilverTiger and thanks for the good wishes.

      I won’t hold you to reading all my posts but if any please you, I shall be glad.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

