In the cafe

As you know, we like cafes and similar establishments where you can get a good cup of tea or coffee, and maybe the odd slice of cake, and watch the world go by from a comfortable seat.

Polo 24-hour Bar

Today, on the way home from work, we stopped off here. It is a tiny cafe in Bishopsgate, opposite Liverpool Street station, called Polo 24-Hour Bar. The big mirror at the back offered a photo opportunity too good to miss.

The seats are rather narrow for our long legs but we received a very warm welcome and a good cup of coffee. (They even stamped my Ponti’s loyalty card!)

It was fun watching the world go past the door, but back-to-front in the big mirror.

Yes, that is Tigger. Your actual first sighting. How about that?🙂

Copyright © 2010 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Out and About and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to In the cafe

  1. BFG says:

    🙂 Nice to be able to put a ..er.. face to the name. Well, back of the head to the name. I believe we saw Tigger’s feet not so long ago, so the 3D jigsaw is slowly coming together.

    Today I’m into latex. More accurately, it’s LaTeX. The first glimmer of a possible tech writing job since November and it’s for a defence contracting company that provides services to JPL. But they need someone who can cope with handling equations from LaTeX documents, and I haven’t looked at TeX since the early 90s. So I’m getting into it – just as we lurch back towards the possibility of eviction…

    • SilverTiger says:

      No, no feet. This is the absolute first appearance of my beloved on this blog.

      I’ve never had any close acquaintance with LaTeX but know of its existence. I hope you are successful in getting the job. Your precarious situation must be very wearing on the nervous system.

  2. BFG says:

    Thanks for the well-wishes – will need ’em!

    The Wort seems to be helping the nervous system somewhat (note to self: keep taking the pills!), whether by placebo effect or what I can’t say. Any port in a storm and all that.

    As to feet – are these stunt feet or stand-ins?🙂

    • SilverTiger says:

      If the wort helps, then keep on taking it and don’t worry about how it’s helping😉

      I don’t know what feet you are referring to. If it is those in the first photo in Sun and cloud in Sussex, they belong to someone travelling on our train who was ignoring the notice not to put one’s feet on the seats.

      As far as I recall (though my memory frequently lets me down – one good reason for keeping a blog), no part of Tigger has previously appeared in a blog photo.

  3. BFG says:

    I have to watch The Wort though – there are contraindications for at least two of the prescription meds I’m supposed to be taking (but can’t currently afford). A statin and a proton pump inhibitor. If the job pans out (and there’s a security vet to go through) and I can afford to pay for the prescription meds, The Wort may have to be ditched. By then, hopefully, the need for it will have lessened🙂

    I put in the link to the photo in the Comment – I’m pretty sure those are your socks on the right🙂 It’s from Having Fun With Steam – https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com/2010/04/17/having-fun-with-steam

    For some reason it had stuck in my memory (I get let down far too frequently by mine these days) – no matter.

    • SilverTiger says:

      St John’s Wort: let’s hope you get that job, then.

      Sorry, I didn’t see the URL you gave. You are quite right (as I said, my memory is fallible), Tigger’s feet have already appeared where you say, clad in red Crocs. I’ll say no more on that because, if I do, I’ll probably be proved wrong!

  4. Reluctant Blogger says:

    Crikey! There she is. Exciting stuff.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

