A Sunday stroll (with the help of buses)

Madame Tussaud's
Madame Tussaud’s

We changed buses at Baker Street where the view from the bus stop was dominated by the green dome of Madame Tussaud’s planetarium.

In Kensington Park Road, we found this vestige of the past, a cabmen’s shelter.

Cabmen's shelter
Cabmen’s shelter

Built between 1875 and 1914 (see Cabman’s shelters, London), these provided cab drivers with a place to rest between fares and grab  a bite to eat. I don’t know when this one was built but the plaque on the door explains that it was restored in 1988.

"Retro Corner"
“Retro Corner”

These shops near Notting Hill Gate all had “retro” in their names so I tentatively called this “Retro Corner”. If you are into retro or just thinking of going to a fancy dress party, you might find what you need here.

Slow concentration
Slow concentration

We continued along Pembridge Road where I spied a figure on a house roof. It was so still that I at first thought it was a dummy put there by a joker. Then it moved… Whatever he was doing, he was doing it with such slow concentration that he hardly moved from one moment to the next.

Vestige of the past
Vestige of the past

Near the beginning of Portobello Road is this trace of the past, a memorial to a long-disappeared building and decorating firm.

Portobello Road, but not as we knew it
Portobello Road, but not as we knew it

Then we went down Portobello Road, looking at the shops and stalls. It was not as we remembered it from its heyday. Then again, perhaps Sunday isn’t the best day to visit it when many of the antiques galleries are closed. Today’s showing was rather lacklustre.

Messerschmitt redivivus
Messerschmitt redivivus

Do you remember when these were a common sight on the roads? If you do, you’re probably not prepared to admit it! I was surprised to see one on the road and in such good condition too. It drove past later, apparently going well. There were a few ribald comments but the driver did not respond. Good for him!

If you want to get ahead...
If you want to get ahead…

If you want to get ahead or get a head, Portobello Green is the place to go, obviously. The heads of the customers searching through the goods on sale appeared amusingly among the display heads.

Faded sign of old business
Faded sign of old business

We came across another faded business sign, this one in Powis Mews. I don’t know what the business was or the name of the company. I think I can read the word “bottling”, but that is all.

Nervous railings
Nervous railings

Along Westbourne Park Road we spied these rather nervous-looking railings. Someone seems worried about the noise made by the closing gate.

On the way to catch a bus to start the journey home, I caught sight of this horse’s head atop the doorway into the back garden of the house.

Horse's head
Horse’s head

It was an entertaining walk – and the ache in my legs says it was a long one – and we saw and photographed too many interesting things to show them all here, unfortunately.

Copyright © 2010 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Out and About and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Sunday stroll (with the help of buses)

  1. Peter Harvey says:

    Bus drivers may no longer need a place to eat their sandwiches or shelter from the weather but I live near a place that is the terminus for several bus lines. There is a lavatory cubicle that is available only to bus drivers, who swipe a card to enter it.

    • SilverTiger says:

      Yes, I discovered these myself when we took a bus ride to an out-of-town terminus. It had occurred to me to wonder how they managed especially as public toilets are fast becoming an endangered species.

      I thought it was a very civilized solution to an evident problem.

  2. Reluctant Blogger says:

    Notting Hill Gate is my old stomping ground and I always try to go back for a walk there whenever I am in London. Sandra and I lived on the road that is actually just called Holland Park (it has the Greek Embassy on it).

    I took a friend of mine down Portobello Road last summer and we struggled to find anywhere decent to eat. All the places I remembered had closed – but I suppose it was more than 20 years later!

    I hope you have a lovely holiday in the South West.

  3. Perry Olds says:

    Hi. The Messerschmitt’s mine!

    Rgds

    Perry

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

