Just a cup

Pottery cup
Pottery cup

Yesterday in Bristol we had a rather disappointing lunch despite being snuffled by the large dog that lived in the cafe. Afterwards we went for a walk and when we saw a small establishment in Princess Victoria Street, we thought we would seek consolation. The establishment was The Village Pottery, Clifton, Bristol, which sells hand-thrown pots made on the premises but, for our purposes, what was more important was that they also offered coffee and cake!

The base of the cup
The base of the cup

We had some delicious cheesecake which, I believe, is made by the potter’s mother. A talented family, obviously🙂

Now, I don’t know about you, but I find it makes a difference what you eat off and drink out of. The coffee was definitely improved by the cup that I was given. Needless to say, the cup had been made on the premises by the potter and, like all the items there, was hand made. I liked the cup a lot. So I bought it!

Inside the cup
Inside the cup

There are a couple of points I would like you to notice. First, see how thin the pottery is. This makes the cup extremely light and also pleasant to drink from. I understand it takes long practice to achieve this thinness while keeping the rest of the elegant shape. Next, do you see how the cup is slightly wider at the bottom than at the top? Usually, such a shape would annoy me but here it works very well.

Ideal for coffee
Ideal for coffee

Finally, see the extended loop of the handle. This adds to the stylish shape of the whole while giving it a rather unique look. The cup is 5.9 cm tall (or 2.34 in if you are still using old units).

If you think it a bit odd that I should be going on about a cup, I agree with you. Normally, I wouldn’t. But I like my coffee and, as I said, I like to drink it out of cups than enhance the experience. I had no intention of buying anything yesterday so the unexpectedness adds to the pleasure.

Copyright © 2010 SilverTiger, https://tigergrowl.wordpress.com, All rights reserved.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just a cup

  1. It is a long time since I visited the area, is it fir and healthy? It used to have very nice individual shops, quite arty

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

