That dog in the window

Today, Friday, was as usual, Omelette Day, and I went down to Borough (or “the Borough”, as some prefer it🙂 ) for lunch with Tigger. On the way back from the cafe, we spotted something unusual in the window of the bicycle shop.

That dog in the window
That dog in the window

I’m not generally in the habit of posting “Ahhh!” pictures but, despite my being a cat lover, this small canine attracted my attention. Utterly unresponsive to our gestures, he seemed to be taking his duties as guard dog very seriously, carefully watching all passers-by and the activity on the street. Or possibly, to judge from his movements back and forth and his twitching ears, he was waiting for his owner to return.

The shop was closed when I took this photo but when I passed by later, the shop was open and there was no sign of the dog. Perhaps he was taking a well-earned rest.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Animals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That dog in the window

  1. Reluctant Blogger says:

    Yes, it does sound like he was waiting for the return of his owner.

    I do a 5 hour stint ski-fitting on Friday afternoons, and there is always a guy doing ski maintenance whilst I am there. He brings a dog with him who is rather like the one in your photo and his dog is so focused – it won’t be distracted by anyone else or anything going on, the dog just watches his owner the whole time, and if the owner disappears out to fetch something, the dog stares at the door the whole time until the owner returns.

    • SilverTiger says:

      I am not keen on dogs in general and the bigger they are, the more I usually dislike them. Smaller dogs, though, do sometimes arouse my sympathy, though I would never dream of actually owning one.

      This one of course reminded me of the song “How much is that doggy in the window?” which is reflected in the title.

      Unlike a cat which will often show great interest if you tap on the glass or run your finger along it, this dog paid no attention to us at all.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

