A town beside the Avon

The Pulteney Bridge
The Pulteney Bridge

The Pulteney Bridge crosses the river Avon in the city of Bath and, all being well, we shall see this river tomorrow. Rather late in the day, we learned that Tigger has a courier run to Bath tomorrow. I will be tagging along, of course, though for reasons of cost, I will have to travel later, arriving in time for lunch. By then Tigger should have made the drop and carried out a preliminary reconnaissance of the terrain.

How shall we spend the rest of the day? As of now, I cannot say. We shall wait on the inspiration of the moment although, because of the cold, indoor occupations seem attractive and I have not visited the Roman Baths for a number of years.

All will be revealed in due course!

Note

In the original of this post my brain slipped a cog and I confused Bath and Oxford. Why, I do not know. We are going to Bath, not Oxford, and Bath has nothing to do with the Isis.

The original may appear in your RSS reader and you may wonder why you can’t access it. Well, now you know!

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A town beside the Avon

  1. Ancient Brit says:

    You know, I was a little confused with the earlier incarnation but I figured it was just the usual haze that senile dementia gives me. 🙂

    No probs. I get brainfarts on a regular basis these days, so much so that I decided to create a blog just for them…

  2. Villager says:

    Great picture of the Pulteney Bridge.

    I look forward to more; I bet the Roman Baths is expensive to get in !

    • SilverTiger says:

      Thanks.

      With regard to the Baths, we decided to buy season tickets. These cost £20 and are valid for 3 years. This means you can visit any time during the 3 years and even if you just spend a few minutes there, you do not feel you are wasting money.

      Work is still proceeding, so you feel that you are contributing to the costs.

  3. Reluctant Blogger says:

    I hope you had a good day in Bath. It is a beautiful city. I have a friend who lives there who I have not seen in years. I am hoping I will use Bath as a stop-off and visit her when my parents eventually relocated to Devon.

    • SilverTiger says:

      Bath is a pretty city, especially when the sunshine lights up the warm honey tones of the building stones.

      It has the intimate feeling of a small town but also all the facilities and sophistication of a big city.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

