Watch your step

I had an errand in Amwell Street this morning. This picture shows the street in this morning’s dull wintery light.

Amwell Street in dull wintery light
Amwell Street in dull wintery light

You will notice that they have installed one of those absurd and pointless cycle lanes. You know the sort of thing: a strip of green tarmac a few yards long unconnected to any other cycle track, which is never used by cyclists and whose main use seems to be to park cars on.

While the main road is almost clear of snow and ice, it’s a different story here in the side streets. (Not that the inhabitants and traders of Amwell Street would ever regard it as a side street!) Here the ground was decidedly treacherous.

Decidedly treacherous ground
Decidedly treacherous ground

The snow was compacted into a hard but slippery surface and although I was in a hurry, I had to tread carefully. So did everyone else and, in fact, some preferred to walk in the road as it had been scraped clean by vehicles (Amwell Street is something of a rat-run these days).

Some preferred to walk in the road
Some preferred to walk in the road

I walked in the road myself part of the way but went back onto the pavement when a stream of vehicles appeared. Not everyone minded the conditions, however. This strange character didn’t seem to care at all.

This strange character didn't seem to care at all
This strange character didn’t seem to care at all

I have no idea who or what he is supposed to be or why he is lurking on a window sill beside potted plants but I expect someone knows.

I didn’t slip, not once, though I did see another passer-by do a one-footed slide, fortunately without falling over. Yesterday, the ice on our front path was full of puddles and I had hoped the thaw had arrived but it seems we must face these conditions for a little longer.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

