Here comes the snow

I know it’s been cold and that there has been snow elsewhere but I didn’t think it would snow here. I was wrong.

Jury's Inn
Jury’s Inn

We looked out of the window at 11 pm, hearing the swish of tyres on the wet road. It was snowing!

Crafts Centre
Crafts Centre

I just had to go out and take a few photos even though it was dark.

Snow on the pavement
Snow on the pavement

The traffic had so far managed to keep the tarmac clear but snow had already made a thick layer on the pavement.

Street lamp
Street lamp

This shot of the street lamp, though not a pretty photo, does show that it is snowing with determination. What will conditions be like tomorrow? Will the roads freeze tonight?

Forewarned is forearmed, so Councils could in theory grit the roads ready for tomorrow’s rush hour but I am not holding my breath.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Here comes the snow

  1. Reluctant Blogger says:

    Happy New Year, Silver Tiger!

    It looks as if you have had a similar amount of snow to us. We still had a few cms left from the last batch but last night’s fall seemed to mostly miss us.

    My daughter has set off for Gatwick today but I doubt she will get to fly anywhere. But she was determined to go. She hasn’t seen her chap for 3 weeks and he lives on Jersey. She’ll probably swim if the runway remains closed.

    Hope your snow thaws soon as I know you hate the cold!

    • SilverTiger says:

      Thanks and likewise.

      It looks as if we will have a “proper” winter this year. Grrr.

      I am glad I am not flying anywhere as I think there will be problems. In fact, I’m glad not to be travelling at all.

      Yes, I do dislike the cold and am looking forward to the milder weather.

      • Ted Marcus says:

        You could move to Los Angeles. It’s been unseasonably warm and dry this week, presumably to coincide with the week I’m taking off from work to burn up the last of the 2009 use-it-or-lose-it.

        For the sake of the drought-stricken region I hope this winter’s rainy season provides an abundance of rain. But I can’t say I’m looking forward to that.

        • SilverTiger says:

          “Warm and dry” sounds good but Los Angeles is rather a long way to go and moving there permanently really isn’t an option, even supposing I liked the idea.

          I am beginning to become curious as to how this cold spell will affect us. For example, a piece in the newspaper informs us that old people are buying books from charity shops to burn as these work out cheaper than coal.

  2. Petrichor says:

    Hello, Silver Tiger

    I just found your blog through Reluctant Blogger’s blog. I must say that I am very impressed that you write both in French and in English. My degree was in French and German, but it would be very time-consuming for me to write a whole blog in either of these languages. English is far quicker. I’m jealous because I took a look at your French blog, and your French is fantastic. Far better than mine!

    Enjoy the snow while you can. Like you, I hate being cold, but I also wish proper wintery weather since moving to a very warm part of the US.

    http://petrichoric.wordpress.com

    • SilverTiger says:

      Thanks for dropping by!

      And for the nice things you say about my French blog. I did neglect it for a few months but have been working hard over the last few weeks catching up again. I still have some way to go but once I am up to date, I hope to keep it that way.

      I have heard other British people who have gone to warm countries saying that they miss our seasons. While the seasons do have their various charms, I can do without the cold. I would be happy with spring summer and autumn, skipping winter!

      I am busily catching up with your blog and have it in my RSS reader.

      Regards

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

