Colder than I expected

The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn

When we peeked around our heavy curtains today we saw that it was actually sunny outside. How exciting! On the pretext of taking out some rubbish, I went outside to check the temperature. It didn’t seem too bad, so off we went. I didn’t dress all that warmly, thinking that it wasn’t very cold. That turned out to be a little bit of a mistake.

We started with brunch at the Angel Inn before going across the road to catch a number 19 bus.

A corner of Finsbury Park
A corner of Finsbury Park

We changed buses here at Finsbury Park. As you can see, it is definitely sunny and I didn’t imagine it.

Clock Tower, Crouch End
Clock Tower, Crouch End

We went through Crouch End and on the way I took a photo of this rather fine clock tower from the front seat on the top deck of the bus. As you see, there is a lovely blue sky.

Decorative Plaster Work
Decorative Plaster Work

We disembarked at Muswell Hill and went for a walk around to see what there was to see. One of the things we saw was a set of houses with rather handsome two-colour decorative plaster work.

Muswell Hill Library
Muswell Hill Library

We also saw this sweet little library, Muswell Hill Library, dating from 1931. It was closed today but perhaps we can go another time and have a look inside. I would like to see it.

The Crocodile Cafe
The Crocodile Cafe

I was beginning to feel the cold, perhaps because the sun was going down or because it was colder than I had thought. So we retired to the Crocodile Cafe for a warming cup.

I wouldn’t mind sitting outside on a warm summer’s day but didn’t fancy doing so today, despite the heaters. Fortunately, there was seating upstairs inside.

We now decided that it was time to make our way home and I thought I would pop into the Gents before leaving. But unfortunately…

Inconvenient convenience
Inconvenient convenience

I was amused by the notice that read “… sorry for the inconvenience”, an unconscious pun.

As we made our way to the bus stop, I was rather taken by this church clock with a face above it. Rather unusual.

Clock and face
Clock and face

The last photo I took on the trip was of this one of the famous road bridge at Archway with a misty view visible underneath it. I took it through the front window of the bus which has added to the mistiness.

Misty view from Archway
Misty view from Archway

This bus took us to Kentish Town where we changed to a 214 for Angel and home. It was good to be back in the warm but I am glad we went out and enjoyed the sunshine.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Out and About and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

