Tiggy 2!

You may remember the house spider who came to stay on my desk for a while and then disappeared. We decided from photos on the Web that it belonged to the genus tegenaria (house spiders), which suggested the name “Tiggy”, which was similar while fitting the family nomenclature nicely as well.

Tonight I have a new desk companion. I am not sure what kind of spider this one is, but it seems different from the first one. I was able to get a picture with my mobile before it climbed under my desk where it is now perched upside down. I have to be careful not to knock it with my knee.

Tiggy 2!
Tiggy 2!
Mobile photo

I imagine winter must be a hard time for spiders as there are not many insects about. On the other hand, I think some species can survive for long periods without food.

As an aside, I am writing this using Windows Live Writer despite saying it was not suitable for my purposes. I may have been a little harsh and have been thinking up of ways of perverting persuading it to do what I want without writing too much extra code. I will try these out and see how successful they are.

In the meantime, I have again emailed the support team to encourage them to pummel their brains and come up with a solution enabling me to spell check in both English and French.

It’s strange to think that Tiggy 2, less than 4 inches from the keyboard (as the woodworm flies), has no conception of such problems or even any idea that he is being written about on a medium of expression that goes around the world.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Animals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tiggy 2!

  1. Ted Marcus says:

    Perhaps you could offer Tiggy some time on your computer to create his (her?) own blog. It would be most appropriate for an arachnid to participate in weaving the World Wide Web!

    • SilverTiger says:

      Funnily enough, I haven’t seen any webs, despite having two spiders in the house. Perhaps these are not web-spinners.

      A spider-authored blog would be interesting but I am not sure spider concepts could be expressed directly in any human language.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

