Lights

Today was catch-up day after our expedition to Sheffield and Derby yesterday. Having struggled home through London’s traffic that seems to run slower and slower every day as road works multiply beyond any sensible measure, we had an appointment at the doctor’s to have our flu jabs.

St Mark's Church, Myddelton Square
St Mark’s Church, Myddelton Square

Much as I dislike winter and the early coming of darkness, I have to admit that it brings the bonus of prettily lit scenes. In Myddelton Square, St Mark’s Church had a very dramatic look to it. You could imagine all sorts of sinister goings-on up there in the sculpted shadows.

Florist's shop
Florist’s shop

On the corner of River Street with Amwell Street, the florist’s shop was prettily lit up. I am not sure whether these lights are early Christmas decorations or simply an exuberant response to the darkness. Either way, it was an oasis of light and beauty amid the gloom of a cold November evening.

The fact that I had two slices of chocolate fudge cake in my pocket to eat when we got home might have added to the cheerfulness of the mood!

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Out and About and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lights

  1. Villager says:

    I particularly like the photo of the florist’s shop; these kind of light displays are perhaps some compensation for these long, dark nights.

    • SilverTiger says:

      The town looks quite different after dark with the lights shining. In the back streets which are darker, illuminated shops are welcome beacons, especially when the lights are colourful.

  2. Reluctant Blogger says:

    The chocolate fudge cake made me laugh. I remember once I was out on a walk with my son when he reached into his pocket and pulled out a cake wrapped in a napkin. He gobbled it up. Then he turned to me and said “lucky I saved that from Jake’s party last month”. Yuck!

    I do like lights but I would much rather have sunshine!

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

