Desk companion

I have a new desk companion. He dropped in on me – or rather my computer – yesterday evening and seems to have made himself at home on my desk.

Tiggy, my desk companion
Tiggy, my desk companion

I say “he” though he could as easily be a “she”, and I am not in a position to say one way or the other. I have decided to call him – or her – Tiggy, which is a suitably unisex name.

Tiggy appeared on the screen of my computer yesterday evening. At first I thought I must have been infected by one of those programs that change your mouse pointer into a kitten or a cloud of stars but, to my relief, found he was definitely on the outside of the glass.

Looking up spiders on Google, we decided this one is a house spider, Latin name tegenaria, but if anyone knows better, please let me know. I was thinking of catching him and putting him outside but the name “house spider” suggests he would be just as happy indoors.

Tiggy spends his time sitting completely still or rushing around. He seems to take a certain interest in following a cable along its length and, believe me, there are plenty to choose from on this desk. I suddenly found him abseiling down from the lamp over the desk though how he had got up there in the first place, I don’t know.

He tends to disappear and that’s when I get worried and don’t close the lid of the lap top or move anything around in case I squash him. I am also concerned that he may not be getting anything to eat though I don’t know exactly what Tiggy would eat anyway. Maybe he is just over-wintering with us before setting out into the wide, wide world in the spring. If so, then as long as he doesn’t starve or attract Freya’s attention, he’s found a good place to stay.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Animals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Desk companion

  1. Reluctant Blogger says:

    Oooh a pet spider! Not that he or she would consider himself a pet, I am sure, simply a visitor.

    I would never kill a spider but I think I would struggle to accept one as a companion. I usually get my sons to lift them outside for me. If I ever find one on my clothes I can’t help but squeal. I know it is silly but I can’t help feeling a bit odd about them.

    Hope Tiggy keeps out of Freya’s way. I can imagine the fun Teuvo would have with poor Tiggy! She brought in a worm yesterday – her first proper victim!

    • SilverTiger says:

      I haven’t seen Tiggy this evening, so perhaps he’s decamped.

      I remember when my first cat brought in worms, her first live prey. Later she brought in birds and mice though she never worked out how to kill them so I always had to take them off her and release them outside. Freya also once brought in a live mouse.

      Spiders are interesting creatures. The big ones move too fast to keep an eye on them so are best released outside. I don’t know why people are scared of them (or mice). It makes no sense to me but, then again, there are things the worry me, such as heights, that don’t bother others.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

