Can you see what it is?

Back in September, I showed you some paintings that I had seen in the window of the antiques shop in Amwell Street. I completely misinterpreted the subject of the paintings (though this is not hard to do) and felt I should add a correction to my post when I found out.

I was in Amwell Street again this morning and noticed that the antiques shop’s window display had changed. Once more, instead of the usual miscellany of old objects, there was a set of paintings. I thought you might be interested to see these as well. They are by the same artist, Chris Burns.

I apologize for the reflections on the glass of the shop window but there was no easy way to avoid these. If I had stood directly in front of the pictures, my red coat would arguably have been even more distracting.

The first picture is a general view showing the whole set of paintings while the second shows the biggest item. Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to decide what the main painting represents. There are no prizes except the satisfaction of knowing you were right, assuming you were.

The set of paintings
The set of paintings

The main work
The main work

I think this is easier to guess than the “reclining nurse”, though there is a nuance that you are likely to miss. I don’t want to spoil your fun, so let’s take a pause here while you decide what the picture represents.

Pause………đŸ™‚

So, can you see what it is? If you said “a pram”, then you are on the right track but, as I mentioned before, there is a nuance. To see what it is, click here.

We’ll ignore the grammatical error in the notice (though, surely, an antiques/art dealer should not make mistakes like that?) and comment on the substance. I think you can fairly easily see that the painting shows a pram, but “run-away”? Can you see any sign of movement? Anything that might indicate loss of control (a desperate parent racing after the pram, for example)? I can’t. It could be a pram parked outside the supermarket as far as anyone can see.

Or am I being too pernickety? (“Picky, picky, picky”, as Tigger sometimes says in chiding me…)

You’ll make up your own mind, of course.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

