Creaking beds and dangling builders

Back in February we bought a new bed. We liked it because the frame is hinged and lifts up, allowing you to store things in the base of the bed. In a tiny flat like ours, every cubic inch of storage space is valuable. For a while, all went well and then we began to notice the creaking. Every time one of us shifted position in the bed, it creaked like the old sailing ships in the movies. In fact, if it had been an old sailing ship, you might have thought it was on the point of foundering.

Then, after a while, we began to notice the slope. There was a definite slope from the sides of the bed to the middle. We decided we had better investigate. This involved lifting the mattress and while holding it raised, trying to peer down into the base of the bed. Fortunately, the problem was easy to spot. Maybe you can see it in the photo below.

Problem bed

It’s a bit difficult to make out because you’re looking at black on black but you might be able to see that the black horizontal rail forms a shallow ‘v’ shape when it should in fact be as straight as a die. Either the metal rail itself, or the weld holding the metal frame together, has fractured, allowing the middle of the bed to sink, causing the slope towards the middle.

I obviously had to do something about this so, today, I rooted out the original receipt and delivery note for the bed, took some photos and printed out what I thought was the best one (this one) and took it to the branch of Dwell where we had bought it.

The manager was surprised, claiming that they never have trouble with the beds they sell, but he was sympathetic and helpful. I think the fact that I had a photo went a long way towards proving the genuineness of my case. He sent an email to the company and asked me to go home and email a copy of the photo in support of the complaint. He reckons the company will get in touch with me by the end of the week.

In the meantime, we are left with our creaking galleon of a bed. I am just a little bit worried that it may fail completely, in which case we may find ourselves thrown rudely into the bed base. If I had a sturdy object to place under the break I would do so but I have nothing appropriate. We must just hope for the best.

The rebuilding of the Angel Centre, on the corner of Pentonville Road and St John Street is nearing completion. We shall be glad when the job is done and the builders go away because the work has inevitably caused some disruption and inconvenience. At the moment, for example, not one but two of the nearest bus stops have been closed on both sides of the street because of road works associated with the project.

Abseiling builders

On the way home this evening, we spotted these two workmen dangling from ropes against the glazed sides of the Angel Centre. I thought it was worth taking a photo of them for posterity. Unfortunately, I didn’t have my camera with me as I usually do. I hate to admit it but I had forgotten to pick it up on the way out. I used the camera in my phone instead.

I always swore I would never buy a phone with a camera in it or, if I did, I would never use the camera. Not ever. It just goes to show how circumstances can make mock of our convictions.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Creaking beds and dangling builders

  1. Villager says:

    These guys dangling reminds me of your balcony image not long ago…..do you have a minor obsession with heights, or fear of heights ?

    • SilverTiger says:

      You are probably referring to Last minute rush. Yes, heights do make me feel uncomfortable and I have mentioned this more than once.

      That might have played a part in me being attracted to this scene but I also liked it for its own sake. I find there is always something dramatic about men working high up on big buildings.

  2. Reluctant Blogger says:

    hah yes, I once swore I would NEVER EVER have a mobile phone – that I could NEVER bear to be available to anyone all the time. I did hold out a long time before getting one but in the end it was just silly to be stubborn any more.

    Hope you get the bed sorted without too much trouble.

    • SilverTiger says:

      They are so jolly useful! The day you forget to take it you’re sure to need it!

      Also, you can simply not pick up a call if you don’t want to. So you’re not really available to everyone all the time.

      The strange thing about the bed is that it feels more comfortable now I have put things in motion! (I know, it just seems that way like when you go to the doctor and start to feel better even before you have taken the pills 🙂 )

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

