Byegone Whitby

When we went to Whitby last July, we stayed in the Dolphin Hotel which is at one end of the famous swing bridge. You will find an account on our stay in Whitby 2009 and if you scroll down you will see this picture of our hotel and part of the bridge.

The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel

In retrospect, it would have been good to take a longer distance photograph showing the whole bridge and the hotel beside it but I didn’t think of it at the time. What makes me wish I had done so is an image that we came across yesterday in York.

In the National Railway Museum, Tigger showed me a postcard with an image from an old LNER poster, one in the series “It’s Quicker By Rail”. I immediately bought the postcard because it is both historically interesting and a happy reminder of our time in Whitby. Here is a picture of the poster.

Whitby, as seen by artist K. Hauff in 1935

The picture, by K. Hauff, is ascribed to the year 1935 but the general lines of the scene are still recognizable today. If you compare this picture with my photograph, you will see that the artist has left out some of the detail of the hotel building but the perspective clearly shows the church on the hill that is only glimpsed in my photo, and part of the ruined abbey.

If I criticize the picture at all, it is because the shape of the bridge is wrong. The bridge is about 100 years old so was the same then as now. It doesn’t rise to a point in the middle: it is almost level along its entire length and barely rises towards the centre.

All carping aside, it pleases me to think that Whitby was much the same 74 years ago as it is today and that then, as now, visitors enjoyed its amenities. It’s fun to think that the hotel was there, plying its trade when we, who were to visit it 7 decades later, had not even been born.

Tigger is an avid collector of postcards but I am not. However, this particular postcard is different because the image on it brings back special memories so I shall keep it close beside me as a reminder of the charming town of Whitby and the enjoyable time we spent there.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Byegone Whitby

  1. Villager says:

    Those old railway cards are so evocative; it’s such a shame that the coastal line that used to run through Robin Hood’s Bay, Whitby and Staithes no longer exists.

    • SilverTiger says:

      Yes, I agree. So many direct lines to places (Whitby included) have gone. It was instructive to study the LNER railway map at the National Railway Museum and see what has been lost.

      Old railway and tube posters were of an artistic quality that you no longer see.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

