Three lions and a clock

I went on a short walk this morning, dodging the showers, wandering a little at random. I took four photos, three related by theme and one quite unrelated excepted by my liking of it.

The theme is lions, something that a tiger finds interesting, of course. One of the lions is quite familiar to me and I see it often when I go to that charming village street in North London called Amwell Street.

Red lion

I agree that the red lion and the red 66 are very striking against the black door but I would like to see the door knocker in its original state. I think that cleaned of its red skin it would be even more beautiful.

Rooftop lion

I saw the other lions by chance, having no previous idea that they existed. They are therefore Surprise Lions. They sit on two adjacent houses, as if guarding them.

Second rooftop lion

How long they have been there, braving all weathers, steadfastly gazing out over the streets and houses, I do not know, but I would guess it is something like 200 years.

The next artifact that attracted my attention is much younger, though it still belongs to an epoch that has gone for ever.

Art Deco clock

It is this splendid Art Deco clock on the building that now houses a Holiday Inn. Its slender form seems ready to fly up into the sky like a rocket. There is a wonderful confidence about it.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger. Bookmark the permalink.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

