Experiment: comment by SMS

I’ve decided to try an experiment. I am not sure at this stage how long it will last as that will depend on the response received.

In essence, the idea is to provide a phone number to which you can send comments by SMS. The number will appear at the very end of the post, in blue, together with a reference code, which will provide a concise way of indicating which post you are commenting on. I may or may not publish any SMS messages (texts) that I receive and the decision as to which are published is mine alone.

Here is the system in more detail:

You may send single, double or triple texts to the number provided. You will have to pay whatever charge your mobile service provider charges for the sending of texts.

No voice calls or voicemails are allowed: if you make these, they will be ignored. Texts alone will be considered.

Each post will be provided with a reference code which will usually be the address on which it was posted in the form yymmdd. If there is more than one post in a day, they will be diferentiated by adding a letter to the reference code: yymmddA, yymmddB, etc.

You should start your text with this reference code to indicate which post you are commenting on.

You should also sign your text with a name or nickname to identify your comment if I decide to publish it.

I reserve the right to publish your text comments or not, and to edit them as I see fit.

I may or may not reply to your text by means of a text, as I see fit.

Spam and abusive or incomprehensible messages will be ignored, so there is no point in sending them.

I will not publish or otherwise reveal your phone number (unless required to by the appropriate authorities). Your comments, if published, will be identified only by the name or nickname you supply.

Further rules may be enacted from time to time as necessary but I hope to keep this as simple as possible.

Summary:

If you wish to comment on a post by text (SMS), send your text to the number given at the end of the post, and start it with the reference code immediately following the phone number. Include your name or nickname to identify your comment if I decide to publish it.

Update November 19th 2009

As there has been no take-up of the offer to accept comments by SMS, this experiment has now been discontinued.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Experiment: comment by SMS

  1. SilverTiger says:

    SMS comment from ‘T’: Novel idea. I shall be interested to see how it takes off.

    Thanks for your comment.

  2. Mark Wegner says:

    This is something I am also working integrating into my projects, but the VOIP services I am using doesn’t support SMS yet. Which service are you using to receive SMS?

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

