At the bus stop…

When we went to the bus stop on the way home this evening, we found we were sharing the bus shelter with someone else. This moth was solidly anchored to the glass wall of the shelter, possibly waiting out the bright part of the day until the light grew softer in the evening.

Moth, topside Moth, underside

The moth was on the inside and the darker photograph is the top view while the second was taken from outside and reveals the moth’s lighter underside.

I couldn’t help feeling that the moth was vulnerable where she was (for some reason I thought the moth was female) but if I disturbed her, she might end up somewhere where she would be equally vulnerable or even more so. I decided to leave her there, hoping for the best. Not many people would notice the small patch on the glass or be interested in it.

After I had taken the second photo the bus came and I had to hurry to put away my camera. I wonder where she eventually went…

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to At the bus stop…

  1. Dave says:

    Thank goodness you didn’t squish her and then blog about it.
    I actually think some of the same things when I see bugs around town, like I wonder what they’ll be doing two hours after I go on my way. We have fireflys out here and I wonder a lot what they do when they’re not flying around blinking their lights at night cause I never see any scurrying around in the daytime.

    • SilverTiger says:

      You may rest assured that I would not do such a thing. You will see other photos of small creatures in my blog, taken because I like and am fascinated by them. I even rescue wasps that find themselves trapped behind windows in cafes or on buses and tubes!

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

