Back home from Whitby

We returned home to Islington yesterday (Saturday) after an easy, if rather long, train journey. As I have said before, I love going away and I also love coming home again. For one thing, the bed in the hotel was rather too short for both of us and sleeping in our own bed again was a real pleasure.

We started the day by going to the Angel Inn cafe for breakfast and then I had to dash off to Liverpool Street station to catch the train to Chingford to pick up Freya from the cattery. She was a little noisy on the journey but I think she is used to train and bus travel now so there were no major upsets.

This afternoon we had a major chore to do: the laundry! Fortunately, the launderette wasn’t too busy and we got everything done quickly and easily and went and sat in the pub while our smalls we going round and round in the machines.

Our holiday has left us with a glow of pleasure because we really enjoyed it. Whitby is a lovely place, we were a little sad to leave after so short a time. We fully intend to go back there in the not too distant future.

I am writing up our trip and have already posted the first two days. As usual, I am posting each day as a separate post and the whole thing as a page entitled Whitby 2009.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back home from Whitby

  1. Villager says:

    Looks like you’ve done a great deal of exploring up here SilverTiger.

    I think the Gull and Shoe would be a good name for a pub.

    Perhaps you should re-locate to Yorkshire !

    • SilverTiger says:

      I did spend 6 happy years in Sheffield and retain happy memories of our visits to that city and others more recently.

      Yorkshire certainly has some beautiful places to explore.

  2. Villager says:

    I forgot about your residency in Sheffield.

    • SilverTiger says:

      Yes, I enjoyed it there and find it a little sad that the modern Sheffield, great as it is, is almost unrecognizable to me.

      I don’t think I would have any problem living in Yorkshire (we won’t mention that my mother came from Lancashire, eh?) but once you get London in your blood, it’s very difficult to leave.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

