Future travel

Antiques
Antiques

After work today, we went to King’s Cross station to join the queue for what the notice describes as “Future travel”. Unfortunately, you cannot actually buy tickets to travel into the future, only buy them now to travel with them later.

We bought three lots of tickets altogether, racking up some useful revenue for the railway companies. Three lots? Yes, and here is what we bought.

First, we bought return tickets for Cardiff on Friday. Tigger was happy to be given another courier run. This visit to the capital of Wales should be pretty relaxed as the delivery deadline is not until 5pm. The document should reach us tomorrow evening.

Second, came tickets for Great Yarmouth. We will be spending six days there and exploring not only the town itself but as much of the surrounding country as possible.

Third, was a rover ticket, giving us unlimited rail travel on any three days out of seven. These tickets are really good value, especially if you plan your expeditions carefully and know exactly what route to follow.

By the time we had finished, we had an impressive heap of tickets.


The photograph at the top of the post has nothing to do with our travels, of course. It’s there because I like it. It shows the antiques shop in Amwell Street and I find it amusing that the church—another antique—was reflected in the shop window among the other old relics.

I have never seen this shop open but each time I go past it, the window display has changed. Perhaps the owner does his business at antiques fairs or has another shop elsewhere.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Future travel

  1. Oh wouldn’t that be fun – future travel.

    I love that photo. I am not really a photo type person but that one drew me in – it felt like I could actually travel back in time by going into the shop, into some old street of the past with the church there.

    Great Yarmouth is a strange place – full of lots of eateries all selling the same food for the same price. Plus the east wind of course. I find it a bit depressing somehow but there are lots of good places to visit nearby.

    GY is only half an hour from here – so if you do pop on the train to visit my fine city then do let me know.

    • SilverTiger says:

      I’m glad you like the photo because I do too!

      We plan to travel around, using Great Yarmouth as a base though we will of course explore the town itself as well. It will be interesting to see what impression it leaves on us.

      We’ll probably not take in Norwich as there are lots of other places to see and we are likely to go to Norwich on other occasions, e.g. courier runs.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

