Pictures of a short walk

This afternoon I went for a little walk in a part of Islington that I visit rarely despite it being on our doorstep. I was out for only an hour or so but still saw things to interest and intrigue me.

This is not a pub
This is not a pub

To start with, there was this old pub. At first sight it seemed empty and this, together with the lack of the usual pub signs, made it look as if it was ready for demolition or redevelopment. However, closer investigation reveals that it has been taken over by an outfit called Church on the Corner. There was no sign of the “vibrant, inspiring church community” mentioned on their Web site but I expect you have to be there at the right time to see them vibrating.

Adventure playground?
Adventure playground?

Then there was this place. What is it? Perhaps it is an adventure playground which, though abandoned when I saw it, comes alive after school and at the weekends. As it stands it looks in rather a dangerous condition.

Old school gate
Old school gate

Further along at Thornhill School was this gate. What attracted me to it was the legend that appears on the lintel and obviously dates from a time long gone. Here is a larger version that may be easier to read and you can click to see a bigger version:

Lintel

I wonder when the Cookery Schoolkeeper crossed this threshold for the last time.

I didn’t spend too long photographing the school because these days people are likely to get the wrong idea especially if you make the mistake of including actual children in the photo.

Thornhill Houses
Thornhill Houses
Grand doorway
Grand doorway

I was attracted to this rather robust and well-proportioned block of flats. It had four of these rather grand doorways. I don’t know who these “houses” were originally built for but I do know who built them and when, because there is a plaque on the side testifying to their creation – see below. They have certainly stood the test of time.

Builder's plaque
Builder’s plaque

I imagine the dwellings were originally inhabited by tenants but today they seem to be owner-occupied as I have seen on the Web that there are flats for sale. If anyone knows the history of this stout piece of Edwardiana I would be glad to hear it.

This is not a chemist's
This is not a chemist’s

In London, a lot of the city’s social history is written on the walls. Tigger and I are always on the lookout for ancient signs on buildings indicating that they once housed enterprises or institututions that have long since disappeared. This example is not very old but there is something rather endearing about it.

Church wearing condoms
Church wearing condoms

This church seems to be wearing condoms. I’m sure that sends the right message into the community but I hope it isn’t a Catholic Church or that nasty little man in the Vatican might have something to say about it. In fact, it is a branch of the Celestial Church of Christ, and if you haven’t heard of it, neither have I. According to the board outside, English Heritage is involved in the restoration which, I suppose, is why the building is open to the public twice a week.

Enticing garden
Enticing garden

One of the things I enjoy about Islington is the number of Council maintained parks and gardens that it contains. I encountered two in the course of a relatively short walk, one of which is pictured above. I found it enticing and was tempted to go in and sit for a while but time was getting on and my teapot was calling me home!

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Out and About and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

