Unexpected return

We're going there tomorrow
Where’s this? (We’re going there tomorrow)

Though my back continues to hurt, I am managing a little better this evening, perhaps because I have kept active during the day. I was determined to meet Tigger from work as usual and set off determinedly for Borough.

How ironic it is, in the circumstances, that Tigger has a messenger job tomorrow. Why I say “messenger” rather than “courier” I will explain in a moment. Dammit, I am going too. I will not let back pain rob me of a day out. I will have to take it slowly, that’s all.

The job echoes the one we did last Friday. You remember: we had been to St Albans under our own steam and then got sent back there to deliver a package. This is similar but the town is different. Where did we go on Saturday? Yes, correct, we went to Southend. So where are they sending us tomorrow? That’s right, Southend! You’d almost think they were doing it on purpose.

Last Friday was a first in the sense that it was a delivery of confidential data, not the usual tender. This trip is also to deliver confidential data, but it is a first in another sense: instead of the usual package of papers, Tigger is delivering a USB flash drive! The recipient will download the data from it and solemnly hand it back to us to be returned to the sender. Technology reaches us at last.

As there is no deadline, we have bought tickets at the cheap rate, travelling after 10 am. I can take it slowly and we also miss the rush hour. You can’t keep a good tiger down!

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unexpected return

  1. Villager says:

    At least a USB flash drive is very light and tiny.

    Hope your back improves more.

    • SilverTiger says:

      And its smallest was appreciated as some of the packages we have had to deliver have been very large and heavy. I hope more people will start accepting electronic media.

      I think at the moment my back is remaining much the same. Looking on the bright side, it is not worse.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

