Off to Snorbens (yes, again!)

Yes, tomorrow we are again off to Snorbens, otherwise known as St Albans or Verulamium. We did not expect to be returning so soon but we are happy to do so, especially Tigger, who would obviously rather spend the day out and about than at work.

A view from the Clock Tower
A view from the Clock Tower

This is not the usual kind of courier run. Usually, the job entails taking a tender to a potential client and this means delivering it by a given deadline. We may have to leave early in the morning and worry about delays en route. This time, however, we will be carrying a packet of confidential data and the brief is to get it there safely, rather than by any particular deadline.

This extension of our portfolio is potentially a good thing as it opens up the possibility of more jobs.

We plan to catch a train from Liverpool Street just after 9 am, as this will give us plenty of time to enjoy our day out once the goods have been delivered.

Lion door knocker, St Albans
Lion door knocker, St Albans

My back is showing improvement. When I went out to meet Tigger from work today, I left the walking stick at home. I still have trouble bending, so if I drop my lens cap I will still need someone to pick it up for me. Either that or find a handhold to support me while I go down on my knees and I wouldn’t want to adopt such a posture in St Albans, now would I? People might think I had got religion or something. How embarrassing would that be?

Last time we went to St Albans, it was Saturday and there were crowds everywhere. Don’t think I resent people enjoying their weekend – far from it – but crowds can nevertheless be a nuisance when everywhere you go is packed and you have to dodge and jostle your way around. I am hoping that tomorrow, being a week day, will be a little quieter. I am not sure what we will be doing but there is another museum to visit and we still have a bag of food for the ducks…

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Off to Snorbens (yes, again!)

  1. I am sorry to hear that your back has been playing up. I know how annoying that can be, particularly when travelling.

    I hope you had a good day out at Snorbens.

    • SilverTiger says:

      Thanks. The day was good and I will write it up.

      My back is improving but is a little sore this evening perhaps because we were pretty active during the day.

      And I didn’t drop my lens cap once!

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

