A walk in the winter sun

And Buddha said to the Egyptian... (twice...)
And Buddha said to the Egyptian… (twice…)

It was a beautiful sunny winter day today, though cold. We decided to put off the shopping (there’s always tomorrow…!) and go for a ramble.

Co-op Bank, Angel
Co-op Bank, Angel

Yes, I know I keep photographing this building, the Co-op Bank at Angel, but it is a rather beautiful one, especially when the sun brings out the details. Tigger and I are very fond of it.

I think it was once a hotel, though I do not know anything of its history. The Angel derives its name from an old coaching inn that once stood hereabouts. Next to the bank, there is a pub called the Angel, but that has nothing to do with the original inn, as far as I know. The latter may even have stood on the site that is now occupied by the bank. I must do some research on that.

Looking down St John Street
Looking down St John Street

We waited for a bus at the Angel end of St John Street and you can see what a dreamy, hazy sunny day it was. There was a cold bite in the air but I was well wrapped up in several layers of fleece so that the cold on my face was almost pleasant.

Notice the running man visible below the traffic light on the left. Where was he going? Why was he running?

South Library, Essex Road
South Library, Essex Road

This is another building that is beautiful in its own way. I would like to think that the supermarket trolley is there because an avid reader is inside choosing a mountain of books to take home but it’s more likely that it has simply been abandoned there. They turn up in the oddest places. (Quite often in our front garden.)

We visited this place because Tigger wanted to hire some videos and an audio book of Three Men in a Boat by Jerome K. Jerome.

Library entrance
Library entrance

This is the library’s rather elaborate entrance. Tigger has been trying to teach me to recognize the different sorts of columns (Doric, Ionic and Corinthian) but I am a bad student. “What sort of column is that?” asks Tigger. I get it right 33.3% per cent of the time.

We did some shopping in the sales. I bought a new coat for £25 that is big enough to go over both my handbag and my camera pouch, which I wear on my belt. It’s warm and rainproof and so I think it was a bargain. I also bought a cushion to sit on at the computer as I had worn the old one flat and was getting a pain in the bum as a result but you probably didn’t want to know that 🙂

The picture at the top, by the way, is of a junk yard in Essex Road, which has an intriguing collection of items. To the right of the Buddhas you can perhaps just see a spiral staircase. I don’t know whether this is for sale or just to give access to the Buddhas. Either or both, probably.

Yes, it was a very beautiful day, though short because of the low winter sun. Never mind, the days are becoming longer as we head insensibly towards the spring…

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Out and About. Bookmark the permalink.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

