It’s in the bag

King's Cross Thameslink tunnel
King’s Cross Thameslink tunnel

This tunnel is under what we used to know as the King’s Cross Thameslink station in the good old days when you could catch a train here that would carry you south to Sutton, East Croydon, Gatwick or Brighton and north to Luton or Bedford. Alas, no more. The entrances to the platforms are locked and bolted and the trains now call at the refurbished St Pancras International station instead.

We miss the easy convenience of this station. The bus stops literally in front of the door and, just across the road, is the Station Cafe where we could have breakfast before departing on one of our expeditions.

So what was I doing down there? The ex-station now opens on Mondays to Fridays as a secondary entrance to the King’s Cross tube station. If I alight from the bus here, going underground saves crossing a couple of busy roads and then jostling my way through the crowds on the way to the new St Pancras entrance.

The tunnel, you may notice, slopes gently. It seems harmless enough but in the days when I worked in town and lived in Hendon, I would hurry up this long slope to catch my train and arrive exhausted at the top!

Underground mural
Underground mural

On the way down, I stopped to photograph this mural. I have to admit that I had never noticed it before but it has obviously been there for some time. It is rather startling to come across art in the semi-darkness of this now shabby passageway.

I was heading for Baker Street and Transport for London’s famous Lost Property office. You mat recall that I went their on Monday to enquire after Tigger’s lost bag. Yesterday, they phoned her to say the bag had been found. So off I went to reclaim it.

Even though they had told us the bag was found, the clerk still had to look it up on the computer and read out the description. I was then invited to sit and wait for it to be fetched. I had overlooked the need to identify myself but fortunately, I carry my driving licence everywhere with me and that filled the bill. (I don’t drive these days but I renewed my licence precisely because it is so useful for validating my identity, address, age, etc.)

Tigger is glad to have her bag back. It’s good to know that the service exists and works so well. I wonder whether those civil servants who lost their laptops stuffed with sensitive data thought to give the Baker Street office a call.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in About Us and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s in the bag

  1. Ed says:

    I’m going to spend 4 days in England soon, and hope not to lose any property, in spite of the high quality of your services !

  2. SilverTiger says:

    I agree it’s best not to lose it in the first place. There was nothing valuable in the bag otherwise the outcome might have been different.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

