Anyone seen Eurostar House?

Eurostar House, Waterloo Station
Eurostar House: would you have guessed?

I filled in the Eurostar compensation form mentioned in my last post, added the train tickets and a transcript of the email promising reimbursement (corporates are subject to bouts of forgetfulness), sealed them in an envelope and set off cheerfully to deliver them Eurostar.

On arrival on Waterloo Station, I cast around for something that might be Eurostar House.

You may or may not know that before Eurostar finally came home to St Pancras – or St Pancras International, as it is now proudly named – it was temporarily housed at Waterloo. This no doubt explains why Eurostar House is still at Waterloo, contrary to expectations.

The whole section of Waterloo Station that was once given over to the Eurostar has been fenced off and wherever possible, the name “Eurostar” has been removed. I sensed that finding Eurostar House was going to be tricky.

In the end, I did the only sensible thing: I asked a woman. I know by experience that women are far better than men at finding things. The woman I asked, dressed in an orange high-visibility jacket, was a train despatcher. She of course knew exactly where Eurostar House was: “Turn left and it’s the door right next to the ‘Police’ sign.”

I had missed it because I had thought that it was the door to the Police office. And because it had no name on it. Are Eurostar becoming shy? Or afraid that if they label their door they will be importuned by anxious travellers wanting to know where the Eurostar terminal has gone?

I entered and handed my envelope to the uniformed receptionist, having first asked her to confirm that this was indeed the seat of Eurostardom.

Domed Tube Station, Kennington
Domed Tube Station, Kennington

Experienced tube travellers will know that Waterloo is on the Northern Line’s Charing Cross Branch whereas Angel is on the Bank Branch. I therefore decided to go one stop south to Kennington, where both branches meet.

Having got there, I thought to have a look around. There wasn’t much to see, perhaps because the tube station is away from the centre. Apart from the Royal British Legion in a scruffy building that used to be a pub, and the Territorial Army is a rather more robust brick building, the only thing of note was the pretty little tube station with its elegant dome.

So the job is done and now I await to see if the money arrives back in my bank account.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anyone seen Eurostar House?

  1. Els says:

    Hi there, I am interested to hear about your experience. Like so many passengers, I was also left stranded after the fire broke out in the Eurotunnel. I had to book alternative travel arrangements at a cost of £220 (flights only, excludes transport to and from airport). I want to claim the difference between the cost of my flights and the cost of my Eurostar journey (£60). Any recommendations? Can a copy of this compensation form be found on the Eurostar website (I assume not). Could you email me a copy? Thanks!

  2. SilverTiger says:

    The claim forms were sent to me by Eurostar and I don’t know whether they are available online. The email address to which I wrote was new.comments@eurostar.co.uk. That may not sound very propitious but it did the trick.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

