Post hoc remarks

Squirrel raiding a dustbin
Squirrel raiding a dustbin

If you are wondering why I varied the size of the text in the previous post, the answer is that I didn’t. The text all looked the same size in Qumana’s editor. I could post-edit it, of course, but that would be missing the point. It’s best to leave it as it came out so people can see, even if it makes me feel mildly unwell.

I usually use Verdana as my font. I used to set the size to 8pt but recently increased it to 9pt. I find that slightly more pleasant to read. Maybe I need new spectacles.

The nearest to Verdana that Qumana has to offer is Arial. If, like me, you have looked at a lot of editors (including WordPress’s built-in one), even that is something of a triumph as many of them don’t give you any choice at all (without recourse to doctoring the HTML). Why not?

The picture is just to show how you can arrange images with HTML – click on it to see a larger version. Whether you like the way I do it isn’t the point. The point is that you can do it.

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Opinion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Post hoc remarks

  1. Chris says:

    Hate to nitpick, ST, but I presume that when you mentioned those font sizes of 8pt and 9pt, you actually meant 8px and 9px. The ‘pt’ unit is, to the best of my knowledge, meant for print, whereas ‘px’ is for on screen use. Having spent some time recently writing some print styles for a few of my offline files, I can confirm that sizing text in pts has no effect on how things look on the monitor.

  2. SilverTiger says:

    I can assure you that in HTML pt and px both work. I have used both at different times and you would find it hard to see which post uses which.

    While some – cough cough – nitpickers (your word 😉 ) insist you should use px, others find that pt gives a more consistent rendering across platforms.

    While theory is great for discussions and arguments, what counts in practice is how things work and I can’t see any difference between texts using either measure.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

