Getting on with it

Seafront at night, Torquay
Torquay seafront at night

Since returning from Devon, I have been feeling quite lazy. Those who say you need a holiday to recover from a holiday are quite right. The trouble is you would then need a holiday to recover from that one and… never make an end of it.

I have certain things to do but I keep putting them off. This is easy to do after a week away, especially a week sans computer, because then you think of all sorts of things you must try once you get home. For example, portable email. But no, I’ll talk about that another time.

One of the things I have to do is compose an account of our holiday and I have been putting that off too. I want to do it and I don’t want to do it, if you follow my drift. However, I made a start today and all being well this will push things along.

The job comprises two interrelated parts: text and photos. The photos are easy but for the fact that there are a lot of them and I always have a job remembering where they were taken. I usually make a point of photographing the station where I arrive or a signpost to remind me later where the following batch of photos was taken.

The text is easy too, mainly because it’s already written. What? How? Well, you see, we both have these rather nice mobile phones, Nokia 9300 Communicators. These are business phones and in addition to the usual facilities, they have others like spreadsheets and styled document editing. So while I’m away, I write my blog on my mobile as I go. It opens to a qwerty keyboard to make things easier.

When I get home, I link the mobile to the PC and transfer the file. I always write my blog posts on the computer and paste them across anyway. It can then choose the photos and adapt the text as necessary to include them.

The picture at the top shows Torquay seafront at night. Near the middle you can see a round thing resembling a balloon. Guess what it is. Yes, it’s a balloon! Actually, its called the Tethered Balloon because it remains attached to the ground by cables and winches. You can go for a ride in it and the views from the top of its reach are supposed to be wonderful.

Right, then, I suppose I had better get back to work. Hm. But first, I’ll just make another cup of tea… check my email… take a peek in my RSS reader…

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in SilverTiger and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

