Back from Devon

Torquay at night, from the pier

Like all good things, our holiday in Devon came to an end and we returned to London on Saturday afternoon. I am not sad, however, because although I enjoyed our week away, I find a special pleasure in coming home and picking up the threads of everyday life again.

Today, Sunday, Freya came home in her turn. For once she was chauffeur-driven from Chingford, saving us the bus and train rides. The family is once more reunited.

After the stripey one’s homecoming, Tigger and I went out for brunch and then to do the weekly shopping. There is nothing like a session in Sainsbury’s to bring you down to earth and remind you that the holiday is over.

I took photos and made notes as we went about in Devon. Now I have to work that all into some sort of illustrated narrative. I will eventually post it as a page entitled “Devon 2008”.

The photo at the top of this post shows Torquay at night. It was taken during a stroll along the pier. I think the night is the best time to see Torquay. That will give you a hint of my opinion of the place. For more details you will have to wait for the finished page!

I see that the bloggers among you have not been idle during the week: my RSS reader is bursting with new posts to read. I will get round to them all eventually.

And now it’s a matter of tightening our belts and saving up for the next trip in a couple of months!

About SilverTiger

I live in Islington with my partner, "Tigger". I blog about our life and our travels, using my own photos for illustration.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Back from Devon

  1. David says:

    Nice to see you back. Question: was Torquay not the locale of the fictional but oh so funny “Faulty Towers”?

  2. SilverTiger says:

    Thanks.

    Yes, Torquay was the supposed location of Fawlty Towers. We were told that someone has arranged a hotel in the town to look like the one in the series and that they even have people representing the main roles.

  3. Ed says:

    Never been there. So I can’t wait to read your page about Torquay !

  4. SilverTiger says:

    Thanks for the reminder! I really must get on with it but it is hard to knuckle down after the holidays!

  5. emalyse says:

    Welcome back.A very long time since I’ve been to Devon so very envious. The Fawlty Towers connection is intriguing.Wonder if they keep changing the sign. Warty Towels etc.

  6. SilverTiger says:

    It was very enjoyable and there are some beautiful places in Devon.

    Interesting idea about the hotel! I think it might prove confusing to some people, though 🙂

    I wouldn’t mind playing the part of the Major: wandering around all day being confused. I’m good at confused 😀

Genuine comments are welcome. Spam and comments with commercial URLs will be deleted.

